We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel but very confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #22 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Simple hotel but very confortable”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is hotel is good with a great location. In the same complex you also find Sofitel and Grand Mercure hotels. Due to this, there is no restaurant at the hotel, if you want to eat, you must go to Sofitel or order the room service. The breakfast is the unique service provided by the hotel, which is complete (Chinese and Ocidental foods).

The Executive room I´ve choose, is very spacious with working area, TV area and the beds well distributed. As I´ve asked one extra bed, there was a lot of space for it. The regular and extra beds are very conforatable and you can relax after a busy day.

The good point is the bathroom that have shower and bathtub with another shower separeted (I hate take a shower in a bathtub). The hotel is very clean and the staff very polite, speaking English very understandable.

In the area you can´t find easy reastaurants or taxis, so you should ask one at the hotel to drive you to the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    295
    96
    15
    12
See reviews for
98
251
66
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

In the middle with the Sofitel one side and the Grand Mercure on the other in Remnin Square. Peaceful and safe with great reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast here was fantastic once again able to fill up and keep going most of the day. The hotel is close to a large Shopping Mall around the corner and several other shops although a good 20 min walk from the Muslim Quarter. We had a lovely room although on the ground floor was peaceful and clean and would recommend this place to anyone as you are able to access the facilities of the Sofitel across the road which includes a Business Centre, Resteraunts and Cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the mecure for one night as we wanted to do a stop over and see the terracotta warriors.
The hotel is located in the renmin square with several other hotels, which is quite handy as we popped over to one of the bars and restaurants for dinner.
The hotel staff were really helpful and spoke good English, taxis to the terracotta are cheap and take approx 1 hour to get too, but the hotel can get you a taxis if you ask.
On a free day we explored the city walls on foot and came across lots of street markets all walk able distance from the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend if your on a stop over.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We flew in late from Beijing and arrived at the Mercure, Xian around 11pm. The reception staff were very friendly and considerate. They organised a private tour of the Terracotta Army museum for us for 8am the next day !!!
The rooms are clean and modern.
Very good value for money.
Hotel is around 10 mins from central Xian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I went to Xi'an for a long weekend with our 5 month old daughter. The hotel was excellent to us. All staff were very friendly and professional and helped us every chance they could, for example with an extra hand while we cared for the baby or bringing us things from the buffet at breakfast when we had the baby in our arms. They also provided, for free, a beautiful wooden baby crib with sheets and blankets. It was very safe and good quality. Our baby slept really well, which was a relief! When we went to the Cantonese restaurant in the hotel complex late when we got in, they gave us a baby seat and 3 staff helped entertain the baby while we ate. What service!

Room Tip: Ask for a baby cot, they are very nice and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieBattani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

You get what you pay for: an average hotel.

Pro's: clean, friendly and attentioned staff (offerred cake for my wife's birthday), centrally located (halfway between station and Mislim district, both within walking distance), good value

Con's: small rooms, small beds (definitely not king size as mentioned on internet, should be adapted by the way), very thin walls (you can hear every single wird spoken by your neighbours, even if they are not noisy), overall not the newest infrastructure..

Overall a decent choice for 1-2 nights but definitely not cosy enough if staying longer (as we did)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cifar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only complain I have about this hotel is the location. It is far from the subway station. The Xian Railway Station is around 20 - 25 minutes walk. Apart from location, the hotel room was very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#39 of 2,582 in Xi'an
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,582 in Xi'an
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,582 in Xi'an
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing