We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Nearby Hotels
$65
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
GrandMercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$135
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chenggong International Hotel(Xi'an)(Great Value!)
$27
$24
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
185
308
102
16
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
308
102
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenmin squareother hotelsterracotta warriorsbell toweraccor groupgated complexrailway stationking sizeovernight train from beijingminute walkspoke englishtaxi driverbreakfast buffetmuslim quartercomfortable hoteldrum towersouth gate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 625 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My recent two-night stay at this property couldn't have been much better. I agree with the other reviews that there is no need to stay in the more expensive Grand Mercure or Sofitel, which are both on the same property. A room at the more budget-friendly Mercure provides access to the other two hotels' restaurants and amenities.

My room at the Mercure (3313) was clean, comfortable, and well appointed, though I will say I'm not a fan of the hard beds (which seem to be the norm in China) or of the body wash in the shower that doubles as soap, shampoo and conditioner (a typical European hotel feature).

The hotel itself is a short walk from the Bell Tower, Drum Tower, Great Mosque, and their surrounding markets (though I will say I got turned around leaving the hotel square and wandered off in the wrong direction the first time I tried to find them).

The hotel staff is helpful, though none of them knew that both the Bell & Drum Towers were closed indefinitely to visitors or that the hot springs near the Terracotta Warriors were being renovated and were not open to visitors (this was disappointing after the hotel staff so highly recommended them).

The breakfast buffet (included in the price of mine room) was excellent and provided an extensive mix of both Western and Chinese food options. The two restaurants I dined at on the property--Le Chinois (Chinese) and Azur (Mediterranean)--were very good and reasonably priced. I especially liked Le Chinois.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, though next time I may try staying closer to the Bell & Drum Towers, which is definitely where all the action is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelitis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited Xi'an for two days and stayed at the Mecure Xi'an on Renman Square. We were a little disappointed to find that we were placed in a smoking room despite requesting and being told on arrival that it was a non smoking room. (Interesting considering the room had an ashtray and matches provided and smelt terribly of cigarette.) Upon request we were moved to a room on a non smoking floor. It still had a slight cigarette smell so we ended up paying for an upgrade to a suite which was a lot better.
The hotel is fine, however is a little dated and has a distinct odor of cigarettes. Staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was great and we had easy access to the restaurant facilities of the Sofitel, two of which we tried and both were excellent (the Japanese restaurant and the newly opened Brazilian one). All in all it was a mixed experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne4Musswellbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good location, helpful staff, free wifi, close to historic district, close to railway station, from which buses to Teracota Army leave. No eating and shopping possibilities nearby.
Hotel is too dull, looks more like european hotel. But rooms are realy huge.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank janvolesky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is in a private complex along with two higher end Accor hotels. The room was compact yet well appointed with a good shower (much appreciated after the August heat). It's about a 15 minute walk to the bell tower and even closer to the vibrant streets of the Muslim Quarter.

The staff were always friendly and polite and able to organise tours with minimal fuss. Definitely a place to stay if spending some time in Xi'an without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DVBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Mercure on Renmin Square in Xi'an is part of a larger complex of Accor hotels including the Grand Mercure and the Sofitel. Overall, to us the hotel was kind of a mixed bag with lots of great things about it and some things we did not care for. I will break it down here:

Location: Renmin Square is actually a great location within the city walls and you can get to everything by walking. It was only 10-15 minutes to everything we wanted to do or see including the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and to the main bus station area where we caught a local bus up to the warriors. Plus, if you need a late night bite to eat, your right next door to the Sofitel and the grounds are super safe to walk around day or night.

Room: The room was much smaller then I had envisioned with just enough room for the king size bed, a tiny closet and a small desk and small bathroom. As with most hotel beds in China, this one was quiet firm but that was no surprise to me. The bathroom was a shower only and quiet cramped but it got the job done. For the two nights we were there, the room served it's purpose well.

Food: We only had breakfast which was served buffet style in a large banquet room on one of the upper floors. Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised by the spread and the staff were very accommodating in helping us with anything we needed.

Staff: Overall, the staff were all very friendly and everyone was smiling and always willing to help with anything that we needed. At times there was a language barrier, but overall the staff spoke english well and we were able to get our needs met immediately.

Overall, for a western hotel chain and the price, this hotel was a steal. Plus add on the great location and the great service, and you have a great place to stay while viewing the warriors

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if available
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrInternational702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews