We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant reasonably priced hotel with great concierge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #24 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Mercure is the cheapest and smallest of three Accor hotels all in the same location and sharing the same attractive gardens,indoor pool,restaurants and bars. Most of the facilities are located in the Sofitel just a short walk through the grounds. We tried the Chinese, the Moroccan and the Japanese restaurant and enjoyed all three but thought they closed very early (10pm). The nightclub in the Sofitel served good cocktails and had live music. The Mercure only serves a breakfast buffet which was quite poor. The Hotel is not really walking distance from the main tourist attractions but George the concierge will at short notice book a taxi for you and tell the driver where you want to be dropped. Taxis rides round the city are metered and cost around £1 or £2 but the drivers do not speak any English. The concierge could also book you tours or arrange a private vehicle for about six hours costing about £40.
If you are touring independently this is a great hotel to stay in. Friends however may not like the way the bathroom is screened from the bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is basic and clean. The service is ok, even though most of the staff struggle with their English. The hotel is located quite far from the city center and the train station, so it's best to take a taxi from/to the hotel. The hotel can organize a group tour to see the Terracotta Warriors. The tour guide we had was very good and spoke excellent English.

The rooms are of normal size, clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our first room smelled of cigarette smoke and the move us without issue.
My wife was sick (cold) when we stayed here and she spent a lot of time in the room, it was lucky it was pleasant. Staff were nice and we had a lot of questions about getting medication, the staff at the Sofitel were also helpful - even calling the doctor for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Mercure on Renmin Square on a 13 day trip to China. It was 1 of 3 hotel as that we stayed at. Being part of the Soffitel chain this hotel has a lovely ambiance. The staff is very warm, friendly and well trained. As the hotel chain is French, the management here capitalizes on this and although the staff are Chinese we were frequently greeted with "Bonjour" that I found utterly charming. Also, being French, the female staff are dressed in very chic black suits, with black hose and shoes and very well groomed. Again, very charming. I work in the Beauty Business so I notice these things.

We were upgraded to a junior suite that had modern decor, was a very good size and extremely comfortable. There were high quality linens and towels.

The overall hotel complex is very well maintained, with beautiful fresh flowers throughout.

The breakfast buffet is the standard fare. We ate at the Moroccan restaurant in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it and found it to be good value and a very pleasant change from an endless diet of very bland and unappetizing Chinese food that was consistently disappointing during our trip.

A little about us. We are in our mid fifties, travel extensively worldwide and are prepared to pay for 5 star hotels & meals. All in all we very much enjoyed our stay at this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoppKeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are staying in Xian for a few days to see the Terra Cotta Warriors or even for business, I'd highly recommend the Mercure on Renmin Square for the following reasons:

1) it's in a great location - 15 minutes walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk into town
2) it's clean, modern and spacious rooms
3) you can use the facilities in the Sofitel which includes a good size gym, swimming pool and hot tub free of charge - fantastic for a 3 star hotel - why pay for the Grand Mercure when you can use all the same facilities for a better price?
4) the buffet at the Sofitel was of good quality and a great selection (we struggled to find decent restuarants in Xian so this was a nice treat)

The only negative is the staff at the front desk were a little rude and quite unhelpful, but this was typical of the hotels we stayed at in China. But one good thing is that most the staff spoke very good English.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 3 great nights at this hotel. It is part of the Sofitel chain located on the square --- Sofitel, Grand Mercure, and Mercure. We couldn't have been happier with our room(upgraded to a suite), location and don't miss the breakfast. Easy to walk to Bell and Drum Towers, Muslim District and outstanding dumpling meals.

Room Tip: We asked for an upgrade when we arrived. We were given one on the first floor --- think it may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberts08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is in a compound with a few other hotels. The hotel itself was pretty nice. I found the staff to be really pleasant and helpful with excellent English- much better than in some more expensive hotels which I have stayed.

We had a deluxe twin room which was a really nice size, lovely and clean with a television, desk, internet, a nice big bathroom and a view of the square. Even the beds were quite comfortable.

During our stay we made use of the swimming pool at the neighbouring Sofitel which is complimentary and really lovely. The Sofitel also has a cocktail bar with pianist in the lobby, which is nice for a drink after a long day sightseeing. There is also a nice little club/bar if you want something a bit more lively. The food in the restaurant in the Sofitel was amazing- really recommend it, the buffet was amazing.

It's a 20 minute or so walk to anything, so good if you like a stroll, though the staff will happily sort you a taxi. Great little hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasiasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,658 in Xi'an
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#23 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $43 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing