We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and good value for money. Great breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #23 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service and good value for money. Great breakfast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I travelled to Xi’an with my parents and brother in celebration of my father’s 70th birthday so we had to take into consideration a suitable hotel that would be comfortable for a man of his age and ended up choosing this hotel as it was a name we recognised. We had been in Beijing then headed out to Xi’an to visit the Terracotta Army for a few days before travelling back to Beijing. In Beijing we stayed at a 5* hotel which was disappointing in quality and service. As this was a 4* hotel we had serious doubts on what to expect of a standard 4* hotel in China – we were horribly wrong!

We took the overnight train from Beijing and arrived around 7am. We took a taxi to the hotel and hoped they would let us check in early as we were all tired from travelling. There was no hesitation and they checked us in immediately which we were extremely grateful. We booked Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms and it was worth that little bit extra. The rooms were very spacious, clean and all the usual amenities were provided. Certain spots could do with a lick of paint but overall it was pleasant. After a 16 hour train ride on hard sleepers we didn’t take it for granted! After we checked in we went to the restaurant for breakfast. It was included in our stay and we paid for the additional morning – we were not disappointed. They had a huge spread of Western and Local food, juices, fruits and drinks including an egg station for omelettes and fried eggs. The waitresses were extremely polite and as soon as we finished our teas and coffees they were right there asking if we wanted another refill. Wonderful service and a special thanks to Lisa!!

The hotel is located in Renmin Square with about 4 other hotels so it was a quiet and secure location. It was about 25 minute walk from the centre of town where the main restaurants and shops were and about the same distance from the train station.

What impressed us the most during our stay were the staff and the hospitality. They were courteous, helpful and always on hand to help. Everyone we encountered, including Housekeeping and Maintenance, all spoke English which we found lacking in our 5* hotel in Beijing. I would like to especially mention and thank Selena Wu who went above and beyond. We had trouble finding a way to book our train tickets back to Beijing from the UK so I emailed her in advance and she went out of her way to sort the tickets out for us which we there waiting for us when we checked in. Her assistance made our stay stress free and much more enjoyable than the hustle and bustle of Beijing.

To us we felt that this was a 5* hotel and I wouldn’t hesitate recommending to anyone staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    292
    92
    15
    12
See reviews for
95
246
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We arrived in hotel and asked to check in my partner is chinese so no language barried, we asked for one bed, and she could not even care, she took the passport and than disappear, why...simple to get her coat and handbag and go home, after 3 minutes someone else checked us in

we need to ask ourselves about breakfast time, map, how to get to terracota army, overall they could have been more friendly

the rooms is a basic room has all the ameneites but not that big, but great for a good night sleep and breakfast I need to say is great

also the swimming pool in the partner sofitel is great

so if they only could be a little more friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was between 3 and 4 stars in rating this hotel. The building was nice, the area around the building was nicer (in the Accor's high-end hotel complex, very quiet and manicured), and they had a great breakfast buffet. I understand that the hotel is generally considered a good value, though we stayed there as part of a tour and don't know what was paid for the room. The location is also good, fairly near the center of Xi'an.

Upon check-in, the front desk staff was a bit unsmiling, but I attributed that to the large number of people checking in at once. Then when we got to our room, we saw that it was on the small side, but no matter. But then we caught a whiff of the odor emanating from the bathroom. It stank terribly of sewage. To be fair, we never talked to the front desk--we were only staying one night, and by the time we got in we just wanted to rest and not deal with hotel staff, so we just closed the bathroom door and forgot about it until it came time to shower the next day. Still, it was a definite strike against the hotel.

However, the best part was the excellent breakfast buffet--a full range of Chinese and Western choices, egg station, lots of fresh fruit and various juices... it was a great start to the day.

We didn't take advantage of the pool and gym in the Sofitel, but it's nice to have those options. Overall, this was not bad for feeling like you're in a "nice" hotel while not paying too much. If it smelled better, we would have been totally sold.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Overall the Mecure was a decent, reasonably-priced option. They didn't have some facilities on site (pool/gym) but guests are allowed to use the facilities at the Sofitel which is also in Renmin Square. When we first got to the room there was still a half used bottle of body wash in the shower and one of the towels was wet but besides that the place was clean. The staff were friendly and we were able to get an early check-in and late check-out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarrynShannelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is nice and has a good value. It is on a compound with several other hotels and has several shared facilities such as pool and restaurants. The restaurants are very good. The pool is nice, although not as nice as on the pictures. The concierge is not great, and with 900 rooms on the compound they could have had shuttle buses to the airport and the terra-cotta soldiers.

They charge 50 rmb extra per 24 hrs for wi-fi, which is a lot. We stayed for six nights and spent almost a hotel night worth on wi- fi

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lite123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Mercure, considering we paid around £30 a night, the room would definitely be in line with a good 4 star hotel in the UK. The bed was comfortable, the room modernly decorated, and the bathroom was stylish. One plus-point is the access guests have to the pool at the upmarket Sofitel across the road. This was a really bonus to our stay.

We reached the hotel by taxi, as we had arrived at Xi'an train station early in the morning overnight from Beijing. We hadn't slept, therefore we were very pleasantly surprised that we were able to check straight in at 10:00am. To go into Xi'an, we tended to use bus 32, or 403 (this also went to the train station) to get to the Bell Tower - the hotel has a useful map showing bus routes which was incredibly helpful during our stay.

Breakfast was a very broad selection, with good hot options, and chilled juices. It was a nice way to start the day!

What made this hotel such a pleasure to visit were the staff and the service they provided. I have to mention Selena especially as I had a lot of correspondence with her before we arrived. Selena kindly went to the train ticket office to purchase train tickets for us for our return journey to Beijing a few days later. We then paid her when we arrived. Warren on the front desk was very helpful, as well as Rainbow in the breakfast box.

On day 3 of our stay, I raised with the front desk, that there appeared to be some water leaking from the air-con unit, and it was seeping down around light-switches. Again, the credit of this hotel, we were moved to a junior suite which was fantastic!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mercure, fantastic value for such fantastic service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed 5 nights in July.....Safe, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff with good English especially the 2 most obliging, polite concierge. The hotel is within walking distance to city centre.
Taxis are always available. Excellent breakfast atmosphere....leisurely , no crowding of group tour tourists. The room is clean and well maintained

Room Tip: Our room faced the side road and so was away from the traffic of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sngam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing