We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xian Skytel Hotel
Ranked #34 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on 8th November. The location is the best as it is near the malls & the shopping area. Bell & Drum tower is near the hotel. But the rooms are very small. The bathroom walls are of glass with no curtains. That is the biggest problem if you are with children. Apart from the bathroom problem the hotel is very good.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank ashish1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Skytel was very central, so close to the Drum Tower you could walk to the place. We were comfortable, and the Staff were courteous, though could not understand English! The usual outer bathroom wall in frosted glass..........is this the style today? Reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broomefarmstayspune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

When we arrived in Xian it was late and the first hotel we were given was abysmal(Xian city) our tour company then moved us to this hotel what a difference the location was superb with comfortable beds, good food, friendly staff, exchange desk etc, we had a great time here great value for money would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineT557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes, it's old (ex Prince Hotel), and yes the rooms are tired and a little "Quality Inn" old school style, but the friendliness of the English speaking staff (many ex Sofitel), and the lovely attempts of the Chinese speaking staff to improve and make the experience more comfortable, combined with it's absolutely stunning location adjacent to the Bell Tower with western conveniences and historical quarters surrounding make up for the stale issues. Value for money it's OK.

The rooms need a massive upgrade/renovation to be consistent with 4 star + style hotels. Group operators often put groups of tourists in the hotel because of pricing. For a mid range hotel in a spectacular location, it cannot be beaten,

So if you can live with a little old school style, you will save a bucket of money staying here.

I typically ONLY stay in 5 star hotels, but on this occasion, I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (see my photos), it wasn't bad at all for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TobySimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent one night at the Skytel. It was arranged by the travel agency. The location is good. The room was not clean, maintenance was not good. The staff had trouble with English. Breakfast was manly Chinese type with few western items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oodimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the cleanliness and poor maintainence has let this hotel down as it is in a good location and has a nice decor. However, we could not look past the lack of cleanliness in the hotel. The bathroom sink and bench were not cleaned properly and there was a cigarette butt on the bathroom floor. The carpets were stained and there was much damage to the walls and furniture. The breakfast room was also very dirty. Dirty floor, I picked up a dirty plate to put my food on and the tables were not cleared of food scraps after they were used. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite centrally located - within walking distance to the bell tower and the south city gate. But it is small. OK for two persons. We had an extra bed added and we didn't have much room after we opened our luggages. Comfort-wise it is OK but not much to offer.

Breakfast is the same everyday. The chefs seemed to lack imagination. There are better hotels. Frankly, if I were to go to Xian again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#58 of 2,658 in Xi'an
928 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $34 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing