We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location - poor maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xian Skytel Hotel
Ranked #40 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Modiin,Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location - poor maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent one night at the Skytel. It was arranged by the travel agency. The location is good. The room was not clean, maintenance was not good. The staff had trouble with English. Breakfast was manly Chinese type with few western items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oodimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    139
    83
    18
    12
See reviews for
39
57
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the cleanliness and poor maintainence has let this hotel down as it is in a good location and has a nice decor. However, we could not look past the lack of cleanliness in the hotel. The bathroom sink and bench were not cleaned properly and there was a cigarette butt on the bathroom floor. The carpets were stained and there was much damage to the walls and furniture. The breakfast room was also very dirty. Dirty floor, I picked up a dirty plate to put my food on and the tables were not cleared of food scraps after they were used. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Montrouge, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite centrally located - within walking distance to the bell tower and the south city gate. But it is small. OK for two persons. We had an extra bed added and we didn't have much room after we opened our luggages. Comfort-wise it is OK but not much to offer.

Breakfast is the same everyday. The chefs seemed to lack imagination. There are better hotels. Frankly, if I were to go to Xian again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Two of my colleagues and I stayed in this hotel from July 20 to July 23. It was a business trip, actually we made quite a online search and consult some local friends in Xi'an before going. Eventually, we booked the Skytel Hotel mostly because of its perfect central location. It is on the South Main Street within the City Wall. It is 3-5 minutes’ walk to the South Main Gate of the City Wall if you walk south, and 5-9 minutes’ walk to the Bell Tower towards north. And what's more, if you keep walk further northwest from the Bell Tower, in 10 more minutes, you get the famous Muslim Quarter with the Big Muslim Bazaar and the Great Mosque. Behind the hotel building, there is a large super market named Huarun Wanjia Super-market and the Defuxiang Bar Street. There are many noodle and jiaozi restaurants around it.

Its breakfast is on the second floor, quite a various of choice, simply but good taste.

There is free WIFI in every corner. Their people are friendly and helpful.

The only disadvantage in my eyes is the size of the rooms, little bit small. For large size people, better think about it.

Room Tip: Better ask them clearly about the type of rooms as this hotel have quite different types of rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This quite reasonably-priced hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the Muslim Quarter and the South Gate of the ancient city wall. There are plenty of eating, shopping and sightseeing opportunities at close hand -- and the subway entrance is only about a block away. For price and convenience you can't beat the Skytel Hotel.

The hotel itself is decent enough, with courteous staff who speak at least a little English. The rooms are very small, but quite clean. Our bed was typically hard, but comfortable, and the staff quickly accommodated our request for additional pillows.

The wi-fi in the room worked well, and CNN was available on the flat-screen TV. There are no safes in the room or refrigerators, but there is an electric kettle, complimentary bottled water, packets of tea and the ever-present Nescafe!

We had breakfast daily at the hotel's upstairs dining room. The food was certainly passable, with both Chinese and western options. All were mostly indifferently prepared and none very hot, but the price was great and you could eat your fill of pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit if you didn't care for the cooked options.

There is also a little coffee shop adjacent the lobby, but we did not check it out so I can't recommend one way or the other.

The air conditioning worked sporadically at best, so we did find ourselves uncomfortably warm much of the time -- and we were there in May, so I imagine that July and August could really be brutal. (I've also heard other travelers complain about the cold in the winter, which makes we think the hotel's entire HVAC system and/or insulation is sorely lacking.)

Hot water in the shower was plentiful, but as many other travelers have pointed out, there is a serious lack of bathroom privacy. There is no door to the bathroom; only a windowed dividing wall separates it from the bedroom. The toilet and shower stalls are all glass, and are true stalls in that the glass stops a few feet short of the ceiling so there isn't even any sound barrier. To top it off there is a mirror on the wall adjacent the shower, so anyone in the shower is pretty much on full display (which can be a good or bad thing, depending on your particular bent).

If you're traveling on your own, or with someone you're comfortable sharing all your bathroom rituals with, then this hotel is a very good option for both its convenience and affordability. It's not fancy but perfectly respectable, though I might caution staying there in either extremely cold or hot weather. With those caveats in place, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overrated hotel, tries to establish a businesslike atmosphere. The rooms are ok, the staff friendly. But only a few can speak english. We had a few problems with the two rooms we rented. Toilets din't flush and a fridge wasn't working. It took quite some effort to get some action, although in the end, they get the job done.
The restaurant is to be skipped, since the quality is below average and there are a lot of good eating opportunities in the neighborhood.
The big advantage of the hotel is the location, just in the centre of the city, within walking distance of shopping opportunities, the muslim quarter and the bell tower. But there are several hotels in the vicinity

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_de_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Most staff spoke good English and were very helpful with directions and tour options. The location of this hotel was perfect. I spent a lot of time on my feet as there is so much nearby. The buses and tut tut cabs were also very cheap for getting around.

Room Tip: Higher floors will obviously have less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevaBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#39 of 2,328 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#36 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#24 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#19 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Property: Xian Skytel Hotel
Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#33 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing