We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Restaurent.”
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xi'an City Hotel
Ranked #1,093 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
917 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“A nice Restaurent.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went only for dinner, there was a large selection of food, but was able to eat only a very few dishes as I'm not much into Chinese food.
Lovely restaurant, well decorated Chinese style, the service of the staff was o.k. but once again it was the language problem, fortunately we had a very nice English speaking guide to help us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    118
    66
    22
    17
See reviews for
16
39
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's just the pits. Worse than an out dated back packers. The bed was terrible the springs were showing through had to use a doona in the wardrobe to make it a little easier to sleep on. The dinning room was just as bad. Old table clothes that looked like old rags. Carpet has see better days. worn and very dirty. Had to run around in the shower to get wet and the water would not drain away thank goodness we only had to stay the one night. Just horrible. Give it a hug miss!!.

Room Tip: Just don't bother find some were else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julz950938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed herre for 2 nights in September 2013. I was searching for a central, inexpensive place to stay and got it. The location is close to the bell tower. From there you can take busses to every direction in Xian. The room was o.K. The carpet is dirty, but I knew it before due the reviews I have read. The bed was comfy and the room was quite. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location is good, that´s the only reason why to choose this hotel. But the room was dirty and the old worn-out carpet.. nasty, just avoid it. Discusting. Needs renovation. Rats were running on the roof..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlotte23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a tour of China which was excellent all except this hotel which was abysmal. We like others checked the reviews for this hotel before travelling and because of mixed reviews thought we would take a chance and leave as was, what a mistake that was, we arrived late and as soon as we got into our room could see it was a mistake,we were too tired to leave that night but first thing next morning we informed the tour company and even said we would pay the extra cost to stay in another hotel for the second night (that was how bad it was we could not put up with it just for one more night)The room was shabby with paint peeling and wood rot on the skirting boards stains all over the carpets and we slept on top of the bed as did not want to get in the covers when we approached the staff they were uninterested to the point of we were just being moaners. We are regular travellers and do not expect 4/5* when we have booked 3* but this was not even 1* to date the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.This was the only hotel in China that we stayed in that does not change currency so please be aware if you do decide to book.
The only thing going for this hotel is its central location but if you have a tour this does not really apply as there are several other hotels in the area.
To repeat what others have posted do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: None that we would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineT557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stay for 2 nights in a mini room (single room) in Spetember 2013. Hotel is typical old 3 star hotel. Since only paid about S$36 per night, it is rather cheap for such a good location. It is also sufficiently clean for a 3 star hotel but old. The shower is above the toilet bowl.

But part of the reason for booking this hotel is also that they have a fitness centre but I didn't use it in the end. The fitness centre is locked up at a level that is very very dark with no one at all on that level. I am supposed to go and take the key from somewhere. Thinking that I will be alone in that creepy level even if I get the key make me gave the gym a miss.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ohjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has location going for it, but otherwise - the staff was not very helpful or friendly, they were more concerned about talking to each other than helping you! The wifi only worked in the lobby, if that is important to you. The room was dated and when I arrived there was a big bug in my sink. Then there was a gecko in my room, strange to see on the 4th floor of a city hotel? There was no safe and a hotel employee knocked and walked right into my room at 1:30 pm (after it had been cleaned?). There was a yha hostel nearby that I spent more free time at than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,582 in Xi'an
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nanfang Hotel (Xi'an Ximutoushi)
Nanfang Hotel (Xi'an Ximutoushi)
#1,171 of 2,582 in Xi'an
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#39 of 2,582 in Xi'an
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#41 of 2,582 in Xi'an
774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canaan International Hotel
Canaan International Hotel
#902 of 2,582 in Xi'an
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#51 of 2,582 in Xi'an
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Property: Xi'an City Hotel
Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,093 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing