We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good location, pleasant staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xi'an City Hotel
Ranked #1,076 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good location, pleasant staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A city hotel down an alleyway. The staff was very kind and helpful - allowing us to store our luggage after we checked out and before our flight left so we could explore the city. They even arranged for a car to take us to the airport upon our return from exploring the city.

We booked 3 rooms for our family of 5. The rooms were not clean, although the sheets appeared to be fresh. The carpet hasn't been vacuumed or cleaned in quite some time. There was no door or curtain on the shower. Be sure to bring shower clogs if you care to use the bathroom or shower. Two twin beds to a room. Western style toilet. Towels were threadbare. Ancient packages of condoms along with other toiletries left "for our convenience" in the bathroom - ugh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptynest321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    117
    66
    21
    16
See reviews for
15
39
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel is in a really convenient location within the walls of the old city. 5 minutes walk to Bell Tower. Rooms very quiet with excellent blackout curtains. Beds some of the more comfortable in China. Only drawback is that the breakfast buffet is a bit poor. However, there is a Starbucks across the road under the Mall, and a 24 hour convenience store next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SissyH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over three nights in late September. While the hotel is dated and less than perfect the room was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful and the location great. You can walk to the Bell Tower and Drum tower less than ten minutes away. Both are among the attractions in Xian. Perhaps most interesting is the ancient city wall in Xian and it too is only a ten minute walk from the hotel as is the fascinating pedestrian only Muslin quarter. While there are many newer and more deluxe hotels outside the old walled city, it's much more of an experience to stay within the old walls as we did. Breakfast is included with the room and my only negative observation about the hotel was that the breakfast was, from a foreign tourist's point of view, typically chinese .....lots of cold fried noodles, steamed buns and congee rather than including the cereal and yogurt that we usually found at other hotels in China during our stay. All round good value though and a great place from which to explore old city Xian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Xi'an. Room was pretty decent: clean, good sized bed, good bathroom, air con and free internet via an ethernet cable (seems to be the norm for China). Breakfast was OK. Location of the hotel is brilliant; within walking distance to the Muslim quarter and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Can't comment on the price as this was part of a tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights with my teenage son as part of longer China tour. I do not know about the price/value since this was included in the package price. The hotel is basic, located on a quieter side street in a very busy central district of Xian. As far as I could tell none of the rooms have any type of view. Our room was very quiet. The location is excellent, just one block from the central bell tower, 5 minute walk to a large indoor shopping mall, Starbucks, and many other western shops. The Xian city street layout is a square, so it is hard to get lost wandering around the central city. Our room was quite small, but clean with excellent shower, and outdated tv. The breakfast buffet was slim pickings, mostly Chinese offerings, and not English explanations for any of the food. Given the location I would certainly stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

China is not really cheap to travel in, and the City Hotel (offering at that time a special rate of 188 RMB or about $32 USD for a fairly shabby room with truly ancient, stained carpeting) is still a bargain. The bed was billed as a single but actually close to double size and reasonably comfortable by western standards if you do what I do - sleep on top of the bedding and haul out the extra blanket to pull over you. (Koreans and Japanese sleep on the floor while the Chinese simply have mattresses as hard as a floor).

2 great things about the City Hotel (besides price - again, China doesn't offer great travel values compared to what you can get elsewhere in Asia - and quality is often not nearly as good) ...

But first great thing is they speak English pretty well. This is rare in many parts of China - I also went to Chengdu and my supposed 3 star hotel did not have one word of travelers' English (not even 'airport' or 'bus' or 'train' - they looked up every word I wrote down - pretty mystifying when all the staff were fairly young and are required take English for 4-5 years starting in middle school).

Second is the City Hotel is really centrally located. You can walk out the door and be at either the Bell Tower or the City Wall in the historic part of Xi'an within 10 minutes. It's a busy area, but the hotel is set back off the main street and my room was also super quiet (at least for China!) And it's just round the corner from the direct bus to the airport - very handy! (Taxi to airport will cost 150 RMB - I think the bus was 28 RMB).

I didn't try their restaurant (which was supposed to have 'international' breakfast - but the morning I checked, it didn't)... and their advertised 'massage' was not available when I asked (but a great place was just two blocks away - one of the best massages I've had). Although there are heaps of foreigners at the City Hotel (mostly Europeans), the TV doesn't have the English CTV channel, but a nice touch is the English China Daily newspaper in the lobby.

As long as you don't care much about appearances, and want to save your money to spend on all the overpriced tourist admissions in China, the City Hotel is a bargain by Chinese standards. Again, China is NOT bargain Asian travel - you are always paying for something, and except for cheap transport and (sometimes) cheap food, it's pretty high priced. For ex., the main reason to go to Xi'an - though not the only site worth seeing - is the Terra Cotta Warriors museum - and it's about a $25 admission (plus the cost of getting there - use the public buses or you will pay a fortune!). Just about everything will cost $4 and up to enter in China - and I do mean everything, including Buddhist temples, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieDalian_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Firstly, Xi'an was a great relief after coming from Intensly busy Beijing. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of a really nice street of shops and restaurants including some western food like Pizza Hut and Dunkin Donuts and some big shopping malls with designer labels. We stayed here for two nights, the room was nice enough, small but had the beds were ok enough to sleep. The shower didn't have any sort of door or curtain which meant water went everywhere in the bathroom. The staff spoke enough English for us to organise a second night which helped. Location was definetly the best quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahlikestogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Wenyuan Hotel
Wenyuan Hotel
#1,110 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#35 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#45 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#40 of 2,461 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nanfang Hotel (Xi'an Ximutoushi)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an City Hotel

Property: Xi'an City Hotel
Address: No.70 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,076 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xi'an City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Xi'an City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing