We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to improve their attitude!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,649 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

When we arrived late in the evening they didn't have the rooms we had booked ( 2 rooms one for myself and my husband and my son and his wife) the lady said she could upgrade our room with one king and 2 twin beds. She assured us it was much better but she would not allow us to see the room and once we agreed we would not be allowed to change. She made us wait to well after midnight to get our rooms ( probably about a half an hours wait) So we decided not to take the chance so we were then put into another wing of the hotel which meant a 5 minute walk through a freezing cold corridor to get there. We had to do this each time we got back to our hotel as that is where the taxis drop you off. And of course the bar and restaurant is in the main part of the building so it's constant walking. The room was nice enough but having to keep doing that walk was annoying. On leaving we saw a notice which said we should have been given a ticket for a chance for a free nights stay, so when my husband questioned that they just laughed and said we could get a free upgrade next time, he said we won't be back so they said give us your address and we will send chocolates. Also in the bar I ordered a baileys coffee, then afterwards I asked my son who speaks fluent chinese to order me a regular coffee without the baileys this time. She returned with a baileys coffee. I told her it was wrong and wanted the regular coffee I ordered. She took it away and returned 2 minutes later with it saying she can't take it off the bill!! So not only did I have to pay for 2 baileys coffees but she didn't even let me have a free regular coffee so I had to pay for that as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we regret to note your displeasure and the inconvenience caused by the service shortfall with our lobby lounge and reception team members. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort because of this.

We are extremely disappointed with the performance of the team on this occasion. Clearly we performed poorly in these areas and we do sincerely apologize. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We have reviewed the comments line by line with our team to how this could happen and we have implemented additional procedures to ensure this never happens again.

We wish to thank you for writing and raising these issues and highlight the problems so we can strengthen our procedures further and improve.

Once again, we appreciate your sharing your comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi’an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

By the far the most luxurious of the 3 hotels we stayed at during our trip. The suites are huge with a separate work area and sitting area. The bathrooms were very well appointed including a bath tub and separate shower. If it wasn't for the smog in the city we could have easily stayed longer here. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with a great choice of healthy and less so goodies. The rooms were just a touch over heated, so we had to open the windows for a short while. The room service were very attentive to our needs. Wifi worked great. The view from the rooms was neat-there was a colorful (lit up at night in different colors) pagoda style building just opposite our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite- they are so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ell613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for a few days during a business trip to the city whilst attending a conference. The hotel is like other luxury hotels I've stayed at in China - top of the range where everything is spotlessly clean, great facilities and helpful staff. The breakfasts are fantastic with something for everyone and I had no complaints or issues at all. If only my own home was this nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Soitel is Accor's luxury hotel brand, and usually the rooms are quite similar anywhere you stay at. And this is not bad! You know what to expect from a hotel like this, and Sofitel Xi'an is not different: Spacious room and bathroom, very clean and pretty well located right in the center of the walled downtown.
In comparison to other Sofitels around the world, this is not expensive at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdelfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was fabulous from the very beginning! Staff were attentive, spoke clear enough english (who am I to judge when I cant speak mandarin) so we had no issues. Check in was very quick and because the hotel was quiet, they provided us with free wifi and a free upgrade to a huge room that had a separate lounge room to bedroom. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except that everything was perfect. In room dining was delicious! Location is fantastic. When I head back to xi'an, I will definitely stay here again!
Bottom line: quit looking around, stay here!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rebbecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Xian for 3 nights. We were impressed with the breakfast and the location was great (close to sights and train station). However, the staff barely spoke English and we had difficulties communicating simple requests like ordering a taxi for a specific time or asking for the bill in the restaurant. And even though the hotel is nicely decorated, it is in need of an update (e.g. carpet in room). The room we had was tiny and the bathroom had an awkward layout (i am 5''5 and my knees almost touched the shower door when I used the toilet). The hotel did not meet my expectations considering they want to be a 'luxury' hotel. Not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete the on-line Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the beautiful Sofitel Renmin Square for three days and loved it! Such a convenient location to explore the city's main sights! Our junior suite was very spacious and beautifully decorated! The executive lounge was one of the best serviced lounges I've ever experienced! The staff is amazing and extremely helpful with any request you might have! Another outstanding experience was with the concierge. Daniel was incredible in arranging all our tours, including a fantastic day at the Terracotta Army museum. He was one of the most outstanding concierge representatives I have ever had the pleasure of working with. He arranged every request with the utmost attention to detail! Everything he did for us, turned out perfectly! From airport transportation to private tours!! We had a wonderful time and recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy all that Xi'an has to offer! Highly recommend a visit to the Muslim Quarter as well. So fun!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 80Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting me know that on this occasion we made it.

I particularly appreciated your giving me the name of people who excelled and it was a great pleasure to share your compliments with Daniel. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,649 in Xi'an
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,649 in Xi'an
704 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,649 in Xi'an
695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,649 in Xi'an
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $91 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing