We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the Sofitel standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,617 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a centrally-located hotel situated in an Accor chain complex with two other hotels all located on the same site. It is modern and classy decorated in a style too-cute for our liking. When we arrived late in the evening we were upgraded to a small suite and as appealing as that might sound it might have been better to have taken the deluxe room we booked. The suite was very dark with almost all the lighting being indirect, the furniture was George Jetson-like, and the bathroom cold and awkward – there were absolutely no hooks to hang wet towels, for instance. The hotel was clean but a bit worn. It is due for a renovation if the worn trim and old-looking bathroom finishes are any indication. There was one redeeming and most important feature– the bed and linens were very comfortable. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant, Azur. There was a wide variety of western and Chinese food available and the service was okay except for the hostess who had a bad cough which she covered with her bare hands – ugh! We have travelled extensively in Europe and have routinely used Accor hotels – this one didn’t meet the standard. Maybe we were too tired…?

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast buffet early. The room fills up quickly.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santenay1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience at the Sofitel Xi'an did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was a couple/family trip to see the Terracotta Army and the Sofitel was a lovely stay. We tried a couple of the restaurants that were good to very good, breakfast was excellent to fabulous; the highlights were the rooms that exceeded our expectations with some very nice small touches (the welcoming fruit basket, plus chocolate and flower on the pillow at turn-down, although details, are something we'd not seen in a while) and efficient, friendly service. As we already had our days planned ahead with visits we didn't have a look at what was near the hotel. We ended up having a great time and our partner and I got room-service twice, something we do not normally do, but here it was great. The bill was much higher than we'd planned but then we enjoyed it and that's what it is all about in the end...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Service very good , friendly people always ready to help .
Good food ( we had a good experience at Brazilian restaurant , good meat ) and a wonderful breakfast buffet .
We enjoyed also SPA & massage services in very comfortable and 'zen' room .
As it(s the case in majority of Chinese towns , quite difficult to get a taxi even through Hotel service .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Not the greatest area. Nothing in the immediate vicinity so you are somewhat isolated. It is about a 30 minute walk to the bell tower/wall. The hotel does however have a number of in house restaurants. It is a very large hotel with two 'wings' - east and west. Rooms are large and very well appointed except that they are very dimly lit for some reason. The air conditioning was also very poor resulting in our room being way too warm.
Our party of 4 were encouraged to up grade to club rooms which included breakfast and access to the Sofitel lounge. It certainly enhanced our stay. However when we checked out we found that the the cost far exceeded what we had originally been quoted. Apparently other have experienced the same problem.

Room Tip: If you up grade to a Club Room beware of the final cost.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peach_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Traveled to Japan and China with two Adults and 3 Teenage Daughters. Took an Overnight Train from Beijing to Xian. We arrived at 8am. The staff at Sofitel not only let us check in early but upgraded us to two very nice suites. I booked sofitel after reading TA reviews; everything was dead on. This was the best hotel out of 5 we stayed at on our trip. We arrived just after a weekend holiday celebration in Xian so room census may have been lower than usual but we were so happy with our accommodations. We used room service twice for breakfast and it was great! The hotel is within walking distance to the Bell tower and other attractions, just make sure you get directions! We went to see the Terra-cotta Soldiers, my advice is to try and time your visit with attention to local traffic (late afternoon/evening traffic back to the hotel was brutal in this city of 8 million people!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HawaiiD0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 12 nights in China recently, and this was my least favorite hotel. The air conditioning didn't seem to be working and when we complained the front desk said they would send an engineer to check the room while we were out. When we returned, the windows were open! (Problem solved, I guess!). The lights were so dim in the room that I literally had trouble finding things in my suitcase. We ordered well done hamburgers in the hotel restaurant and when they arrived at the table, they were under done. I am pretty sure that they weren't beef - but lamb burgers which were also on the menu. They wanted us to fill out a customer opinion sheet. We did and the waitress took it from us and read it at the table while we watched!
On the positive side, the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish3617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,617 in Xi'an
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,617 in Xi'an
679 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,617 in Xi'an
676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,617 in Xi'an
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#33 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $97 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing