We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in Central city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    794
    213
    58
    28
See reviews for
399
799
105
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

For accommodation in China, this place is very good with all the modern amenities you might need while away from home. Very comfortable beds, soft sheets and pillows, and well laid it rooms. The rain shower was great and the bathroom amenities good quality. The buffet breakfast has just about everything you could think of for breakfast and then some! The only let down is the hotel is looking a little tired in some areas, the shower had a bit of a leak, and if you're staying in the west wing it's a long walk to the east wing to use the pool and go to breakfast. Oh and don't buy any drinks from the lobby bar, cost me about $12AUD for 2 cans of sprite.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyMikeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it. At the meantime, I am truly sorry for the shower leaking. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department. For the price of the beverage in the lobby bar, we will conduct a market survey to see if any price adjustment would be necessary, but thank you for bring this to our attention.

Again, thanks for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not sure the history of Renmin Sq, this Sofitel is sharing the site with Grand Mercure (Accor's the other line) in a big gated lot. Renmin Sq - it means civic centre like in chinese, this whole building reminds some 90's govt building style.
This sofitel has 2 wings, since I didnt know what my booking was, I just random picked one and I was wrong. Both wings have front desk to serve check-in, so I was sent by the golf cart, indeed there's underground corridor connected in abt 100m only.
In Room, what i feel was not grand enough, and full of pine wood design, loved the cleanliness though looks aged.
Restaurant, tried AZUR for breakfast, it's the value for money deal, offered great variety of choices from chinese to western.
Since Shaanxi Provincial govt offices and the courthouse are nearby, street safety would be a guarantee, so I tend to go the city centre on foot in about 15-20 mins.
Little reminder - Taxi fare to airport is about CNY 120 in about 1 hour.

The cons part, I would say the club on ground floor, it's noisy and a bit messy and not fit the hotel image.

Room Tip: room face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

At the meantime, I am sorry for the unpleasant bar experience. I am sorry that this was a disappointment. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our two week tour of China.

The hotel is huge with a great choice of reasonably priced but luxury restaurants and bars. We ate at the buffet one evening and had great food and wine, including steak, for c£30 per person. The cocktails in the lobby bar were lovely with great service. The breakfast was stunning with so much choice and gourmet choices. Fresh, french breads and pastries, asian noodles and soups, eggs made to order and wonderful fruits and continental choices. Truly 5 star food. The service was great too, the waitresses were so friendly.

Our room was huge with a marble bathroom and lounge area. The only slight negative was the noisy road outside but we were high up so it didn't really matter.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We were delighted to know that our ambassadors and service helped make you satisfied. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations to each of our guest. We all look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I believe my stay would have been better if I had stayed in the other tower than where I was. There are two towers - one has been refurbished & that is where the breakfast buffet and gym is located. The tower I was in was probably very nice in it's day (80's decor), but is now a bit tired looking & needs some TLC (dust was everywhere). My room was quite large with a small living room & walk-in closet. One annoyance is the hotel had their heating too high which made it uncomfortable when exiting elevators. The staff was very nice & accommodating though.

Room Tip: If you want easy access to the gym & breakfast buffet, stay in the tower they're located in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSolis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, while I noted your good compliments on our ambassadors I regret to note that the facilities of the hotel did not lived up to your expectation.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
728 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite in this hotel and we loved it. The room had a separate living room area (with a powder room).

The room was spacious, and very comfortable.

Bath products were L'Occitane and there were also extras like toothbrushes and toothpaste, razors with shaving cream, and slippers. In addition to terry cloth robes there were also satin robes provided.

Chocolates were given with turn down service.

The lobby area was gorgeous with a nice little bar/snack area.

Breakfast was terrific - a very large selection of western and eastern foods. Plenty to eat, and a large variety to satisfy anyone's taste.

Location is a little far from the highlights of Xi'an, but we walked anyway. Probably at least 1/2 hour to get to the main shopping areas.

We definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I arranged a 2 night stay in Grand Mercure Xian with my wife and were upgraded to the Sofitel. No explanation was given, but we were not disappointed.

The room was large and luxurious, and even had a computer workstation. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom clean with a separate bath.

The breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of western and Asian cuisine. The meal we had in the hotel was reasonably priced and of excellent quality.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Xi'an

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team members as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#36 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing