We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, interesting layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in June 2013. Location of the hotel is quite good, specially if you want to walk to the sightseeing things. There are some busses going by the street as well, so if you know where to go they are easy to use. The underground station is quite far, and during our visit only the first line was open anyway.
Our room was by the road (I guess building number 7). There was no sound from the street, which was a very good thing, since the street is quite busy. Our room was quite big, the bed was good if you like hard mattress. Bathroom was spacious but not enough space to put your toilet bag. Room was clean and for the week that we stayed there it was cleaned everyday quite well. Room and other places are little bit worn out, but not yet too bad. During our visit the temperature outside was quite high (40C top) but the room was still comfortably cool.
Staff was helpful, even though we arrived quite early we got the room ahead of normal time.
Breakfast was ok, better than average. Only problem was that it was served in an other building, so you have to walk there either outside or by using underground tunnel.
There was free wifi which worked quite fast.
Only negative thing was that at least to our room on the fourth floor some evenings there was some music coming from somewhere within the building, though it was not too loud nor too late.
The area of the hotel was funny. There were several buildings under the same brand. Once it was kind of a part of the governmental compound which is next to the hotel.
I can recommend this hotel if you want to stay within the city wall in Xi'an.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,326)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

While my travel agent had recommended this hotel very highly, I was disappointed by almost every thing. The rooms were smal, the bathroom was too small, the lobby was not very welcoming, and one had to travel to another building for breakfasts. The only good thing was the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrithviHaldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient.

At the meantime, you have indicated that you were less than satisfied with the size of the guest room. I am truly sorry that this was not up to your expectations but we are looking forward to welcome you back as we have different types of rooms that feature with larger spaces and the fascinating views.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future and once again taking the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had an upgrade to a fantastic junior suite that was perfect. Probably the best hotel we have stayed in in China.
We had so many places to visit in Xian that the location was immaterial but seemed OK to us for a two-night stop. The restaurant is outside of the main hotel which sound odd but works very well
and the standard of breakfast was superb. We would have liked to have tried out more of the local restaurants . Tired on arrival we ordered a club sandwich from room service, they promptly delivered enough food for four people. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade! Beg or plead ! Seriously, I would guess that all of the rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We book online directly with the hotel group and benefited from their early booking specials.
http://www.sofitel.com/gb/hotel-5949-sofitel-xian-on-renmin-square/index.shtml

We had a Luxury Room in the West Wing. The room was fantastic, really comfy bed and lovely big bathroom with separate rain shower and full size bath. Anything we needed was dealt with quickly and professionally.

As we were very busy sightseeing when we were here, we only had breakfast at the hotel once, you can expect to pay RMB 105 - 170 for breakfast depending on what option you choose.

Laundry is also ridiculously expensive here.

One of the pleasant surprises of the hotel was the Relax Spa. To my surprise the rates charged were quite reasonable; Relaxation Foot Massage (+/- RMB170) and 60min Traditional Chinese Massage (+/- RMB185). I don't go to Spa's very often, but really enjoyed my visit here.

If you are looking for some shopping opportunities, there are a number of shopping centers within a short walk of the hotel.

I left happy with my stay and feeling that I had got value for my money

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be good, it is not very noisy around the hotel - our room faced the street and we...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At the same time, we noted from your comments that you were less than satisfactory with the laundry service, Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived late afternoon in the pouring rain for our 2 night stay at the Sofitel. It was great to walk into a luxuriously appointed room after travelling all day and to soak in a hot bath. The room had everything you could possilbly need including a mini office. The staff were quite helpful and accommodating however their tours were expensive compared to other hotels that offered the same tour for half the price. We fould the location a little too far from town given that we were only there for two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, I really appreciated your feedback on this and I am glad that the hotel facilities lived up to your expectations. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind comments on hotel ambassadors. I am glad you found them to be helpful, as that is absolutely the way we would like our guests to feel when they are staying with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Every question sent by email before arrival was promptly replied to.
The manager was very helpful.
As a platinum member we got upgraded to a suite.
It was my birthday and they sent a cake to the room.
The staff at the executive lounge had the best English we've come across staying at various hotels in China and were very nice.. staff generally was very good and helpful.
As we stayed on the executive floor we had access to the executive lounge which served lovely food and FREE drinks 5-7pm !!
Nice selection of restaurants and bars.
I would highly recommend.
The price of the Sofitel was higher than the other hotels we stayed in Beijing but was well worth EVERY penny.
I had read on some reviews prior to departure than it was hard to get a taxi to the train station because the ride is too cheap and the taxi's are not interested. if you offer 20RMB they'll take you there no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kl_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am still here and it has been a great experience so far. The breakfast and lunch have been superb. The staff speak English, they are warm and therefore I faced no issues communicating with them. The room is very clean and well maintained. I loved the bathroom! I could probably return to this hotel in the future, with work/ for leisure!

I would recommend this to all who ar considering this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suhrita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,616 in Xi'an
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,616 in Xi'an
675 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,616 in Xi'an
673 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,616 in Xi'an
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing