We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but a bit dark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,611 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Comfortable but a bit dark”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here in between Beijing and Chengdu. The hotel is fairly well located, and we had a very large room with a good-sized bathroom and a large desk area. The room was quite comfortable, and was very clean. However, the room looked directly over the roof of a part of the hotel (perhaps a conference area), so our view was less then picturesque. The room was also fairly dark -- the lighting was marginal for doing any work. Overall, the hotel was fine, but I would probably look elsewhere if I came back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the meantime, I was concerned to learn that you found the lights in your room disappointing. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience because of this and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such problem does not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    812
    216
    61
    29
See reviews for
412
826
110
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Best hotel in Xian in good location, although there is not much nice about Xian! Hotel complex is a little too big and difficult to navigate but perfectly good though, clean comfortable and good staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank 118Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The sofitel have two wings,east wing and west wing,the two wings are connect together by underground corridor,they also have golf car,the bellboy will drive to each of wing.Some people said they had hotel dinner too many time,and want to eat real chinese food in restaurant.A canton restaurant is located near sofitel,and very good,my clients like there very much!

Ivan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bell boys and receptionist are friendly, well trained, and very helpful. Apart from the lobby coffee shop (Azur) we were very impressed with the staff at this hotel; even and without mentioning, a birthday cake was even sent to our room for my friend!

The configuration of this hotel is a little strange in that there is an east and west wing, golf cart transportation is provided, however it is quite walkable once you understand the layout. Superior room and bathroom size are large and very impressive. However, since we stayed at the hotel towards March end we found the room to be very hot as the air conditioning was not available so we had to keep our windows open to cool down the room.

We found the breakfast area abit of a battleground. Both east and west wing occupants converge into this one area which makes it extremely busy and chaotic. The selection and food is a good standard but annoyingly at 9am we found many dishes were empty as they had not been replenished which is not acceptable for a 5 star hotel; clearly bad F&B management. We also had a lunch in this area and found the food to be good but service was slow and poor. We tried the Brazilian BBQ restaurant, which had excellent meat quality, however the buffet selection (salads & deserts) was somewhat off the mark. Clearly better F&B management is required overall within this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms within the east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the meantime, I was very concerned to learn that you found the food and the service in restaurants disappointing. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience because of this and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such problem does not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are visiting the near-by terra cotta warriors, you are undoubtedly staying in Xi'an.
The Sofitel gives the luxury that you expect. A very large property with two major buildings and convention center you can escape the business atmosphere of the conventions and find solitude in this hotel.
A rapid check in service was appreciated by this tired traveller.
The room was larger than expected and one of the most comfortable beds and bedding that I have experienced in five star hotels.
The service and quality is identical to what you expect of Sofitel in other world cities.
I would stay in the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As part of a tour to the terracotta warriors, we stayed one night in this hotel. The check-in staff person was prompt and friendly though I must admit we had the advantage of having our tour guide there to help us check in. It was later at night when we arrived and we left right after breakfast.
Our room was modern, well appointed and very clean. The bedroom area is not large but sufficient space for 2 people to move around and there is a walk-in closet to store bags. The bathroom has a separate shower and bathtub which I prefer. Breakfast was included in our stay. They have a large modern dining room where they serve a buffet breakfast. There is a very good variety to satisfy most if not all different breakfast tastes. The food was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful.
Based on my limited exposure to the hotel, i definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

In tower 5, 3rd floor. Room is tired and smelly. Not too impressed. Carpet has water damage stains, and bathroom ceiling is damaged. I frankly expect a little more from Accor's crème de la crème. Location is, however, very good and the staff is very attentive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,611 in Xi'an
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,611 in Xi'an
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,611 in Xi'an
450 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,611 in Xi'an
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#36 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing