We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel had room all ready for us when we arrived and the staff at check in desk walked us to our room. Nice touch. Room was huge! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also a good spread. Location was great for it is within the old city walls. Walking distance to Muslim quarters, great mosque and other shopping. Very children friendly too. Had huge group of kids the first day at breakfast and staff were very friendly towards them....I believe it was a school group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westiekhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals and the room in our hotel, I really appreciated your feedback on these and I am glad that both areas lived up to your expectations. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind comments on all the hotel ambassadors. I am glad you found them to be kind, as that is absolutely the way we would like our guests to feel when they are staying with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    788
    208
    55
    27
See reviews for
393
790
100
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel in a central location. Staff very friendly, polite and always willing to help.
Room was very spacious, clean, comfortable beds and excellent shower. Great place to unwind after spending all day visiting the Terracotta warriors, goose pagoda, bell tower etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LitzlbergLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed with friends for two nights at this lovely hotel, primarily to see the terracotta warriors, however being a walled city was great to bike along the wall, vist the big goose pagoda and the muslim quarter. The rooms at the Sofitel were really great, only issue was the air conditioning was not working to well and the room was to warm. Fortunately had windows you could open. What set this hotel apart from the many others we have stayed in was the staff. They were terrific. My wife had something that disagreed with her and at 11pm one night we had to get a doctor in from the local hospital. The duty manager Nicole organised this within 30 minutes or so and cam up and translated for us. The next morning even had a folow up call from Candy in their customer service team to see how we were and offer any assitance we might need. Beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as set back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1957tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting me know that on this occasion we made it.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team members as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Sofitel Renmin Square. We opted for the 'premium' package which included breakfasts and transfers to and from the airport. Our visit began by being picked up at the airport by a professional driver in an Audi A6 - much nicer than the little green and yellow taxis! On arrival at the hotel, we were met at the door and escorted to the 11th (Club) floor to check in. We hadn't booked the Club floor, so this was a welcome upgrade.

The room (upgraded to a suite) was spacious and comfortable. The staff at the Club floor took excellent care of us, including making eggs to order at breakfast and pouring nice wines during happy hour. The evening before our departure, we were presented with a nicely type schedule of when we should have breakfast, when our luggage would be loaded, and when our car to the airport would depart (again, the professional driver in the A6).

This is a terrific location in Xi'an - inside the city wall, an easy walk to Muslim Street & Market.

All this for an extraordinarily low price!

The Sofitel Renmin Square earns every one of its 5 stars.

Room Tip: Club floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySparrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on hotel ambassadors. I am glad you found them to be kind and friendly, as that is absolutely the way we would like our guests to feel when they are staying with us. We are very selective with our recruitment in terms of hiring people who have the right disposition for our hospitality industry. Your endorsement is encouraging and certainly suggests that we are indeed recruiting the right people. I thank you again for it.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for three days in a Club room. The arrival details were dealt with very efficiently and our room was excellent. the bathroom was spacious and had both separate shower and bath. the location was great for us and our tour needs. The club was outstanding, particularly the staff who could not do enough to accommodate our every need. Other hotels could learn from such excellent customer service. In all other areas of the hotel, we also found the staff to be courteous and extremely helpful. Such a wonderful experience to stay in such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear all,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
343 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not much to complain about the overall experience for this hotel except a couple of things that should be mentioned:

Pros: A 5-star rated hotel that deserves this rating. Management runs a tight ship and tries very hard to make its customers get a 5-star rated hotel experience. Even presented me with a good size birthday cake as I happened to be there on my birthday. A very nice touch!

Cons: Minor but worth considering especially for tourist: Our room was very warm even with the thermostat temperature adjusted was down and the fan at its highest speed. Location is not as centralized as other hotels but is still walkable to center of town. There was a lack of clothing storage (dresser drawers, closet hanging space, etc) in our room. Lighting in our room could be brighter although it is by no means dark. Definitely need more electrical outlets near the desk as there is only one near the desk in our room and it is being used by the desk lamp. A couple of the chefs (omelet chef and the waffle chef) could be more friendly and courteous.

With the exception of these MINOR quirks, it is definitely a 5-star establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanyu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Meanwhile, I was very concerned to learn that you found some of the hotel areas disappointing. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience because of these and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such problems does not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located in garden like setting it is a refuge from a busy city. The hotel upgrade us to a large suite with a view. We were traveling independently and Leo, at the concierge desk was very helpful in arranging an itinerary including car service to visit the most important sights in the city and countryside. There are a choice of interesting restaurants and bars at the hotel. This hotel lives up to the Sofitel promise of excellent service, food and ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing