We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Why would you stay anywhere else”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel perfectly located in the center of the old city. Within easy walking distance to any attractions within the wall, or jump in a taxi for only a few of dollars will get you anywhere within the walled city. The hotel has both a Chinese and European feel and amenities. The staff are extremely attentive and accommodating. Hotel is has everything you need. The breakfast and dinner buffets are superb with tastes from all over the world. Rooms are spacious with well sized bathrooms. Value for money cannot be beaten with all the 5 star comforts that you expect and more.

Only let down is booking a non-smoking room, it means a very well cleaned, I even found on the non-smoking floors there were still people smoking. This is due to the Chinese smoking culture that you cannot get away from anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Sofitel Renmin Square Xi’an. It was with great pleasure that I read these comments and it will be with equal pleasure that I share your compliments with all of our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Meanwhile, you have indicated that you were slightly less than fully satisfied with the non-smoking room and floor during your stay. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such an inconvenience does not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    804
    215
    61
    28
See reviews for
403
818
109
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

i have been here 11 month ago and came back to xian for a weekend.

i was so delighted by the buffet at the azur in september 2011. at that time the chef just set up a wonderful buffet and explained me all dishes, created delicious specials for me. it was the best experience i had in a hotel restaurant.

when i came back in june 2012 it was a disaster. dirty buffet, average food, careless service and no "love or passion" for details.

just average. it is a shame for sofitel . they must have changed the chef ?!?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan12Xian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to read of your comments relating to the buffet in restaurant. I wish to apologize for the unpleasant dining experience at the Azure restaurant. Following up on your comments, an investigation has been launched. Our hotel seeks to provide quality food and beverage. All ambassadors in the restaurant and kitchen were again stressed on the importance of the quality of food and service. We are also discussing with our chefs to improve the variety of our buffet spread. We thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was told that it was the best hotel in town, but my room was dark, lightbulbs were never replaced, the bathrooms are poly designed with the shower door opening onto the toilet and the bathroom light flooding the bedroom at night through a translucent wall. I was given a smoking room despite asking of nonsmoking and the service from the staff was poor. I asked twice for turndown service on the same night to boy a western and chinese manager and it never got done. Pool and health club are small. Food looks great, but taste does not measure up. Surprised as this is a French Hotel and they should be able to get a baguette correct.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verycritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to read of your comments relating to the room allocation,the dark lights in the room and the slow turndown service. Clearly we performed very poorly in these areas and I do sincerely apologize. I greatly appreciated your brining them to my attention to enable me to take necessary remedial action.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi;an, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

the hotel has good locaiton and the most of their satff with good service and espericaly, one girl named Lucy ,always help most guests
and the hotel close to city wall and the bell and drum tower and you can walk around by yourself in evening
one more good thing is the food offered in hotel is best ! even the price is more expensive than the resturants in outside while worthy to try it
and hotel offer the simple map for the guest andf easy for them to find the places they want

Room Tip: you can book the room by internent and this can help you get good price or book the hotel by local t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting me know that on this occasion we made it.

I particularly appreciated your giving me the name of people who excelled and it was a great pleasure to share your compliments with her. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

You will love this hotel if you like the amenities in a new hotel. Staff are excellent and happy to make any arrangements you need. Excellent coffee shop. A really nice spread at the buffet and very vegetarian friendly. I think this place lacks a chinese feel. It is very cosmopolitan but if you are looking for an authentic chinese experience, this may not be for you. If you like western comforts though, this is great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramgopal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, we’d like to take this opportunity to introduce to you our Chinese restaurant - Le Chinois, where elegant arts and luxurious decorations are found everywhere inside the Le Chinois Chinese restaurant. The major style is Cantonese – however offering also spicy Sichuan food. The local chefs are also able to demonstrate the art of making noodles, as well, presenting famous Xian Cold dishes to impress our guests. The various famous brands of Chinese tea like Tiet Quan Yin, Long Jin and Poh Erh are available for guests to experience.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming again to the Sofitel Xi’an on your next visit here. I look forward to that occasion and until then, I remain.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The breakfast here is unbelievable.
Their dinner buffet puts all other hotel restaurants to shame.
All that and wine or beer included.
Stay in the west wing if you can.
This is a great hotel!
The room was extremely quiet facing the square.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sapo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our restaurants, I really appreciated your feedback on these and I am glad that both areas lived up to your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our food & beverage and services.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stay 5 nights in the hotel with 2 rooms and stayed in West wing. Not sure if there is an austerity drive, but liquid soap and shampoo not refilled even if half used. But great rooms and turn down service, sometimes forgetting the bedside chocolates and replacement of toilet rug. And there is also morning free tea/coffee and macaroons at lobby. Hotel is convenient and allowed late checkouts. In house Jap food is not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityDirector, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, while I noted your good compliments in areas of F&B service and outlets, I regret to note your displeasure over the services by the housekeeping team members. Please accept our apologies of any inconvenience caused.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
hm@renminsquare.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,578 in Xi'an
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,578 in Xi'an
424 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,578 in Xi'an
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#32 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing