We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Hotel”
Review of Wenyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wenyuan Hotel
Ranked #586 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed October 30, 2007

This hotel is in a great location for the excellent street food of the nearby Muslim Quarter. Beware though, when they say spicy the food is delicious but very spicy! There is also a food market directy behind the hotel. I have to agree with the comments made by the previous reviewer. Large room, bathroom a bit tired but quiet and the usual hard beds of chinese hotels. Breakfast was a chinese buffet with watermelon and some cakes. We asked for a Western breakfast and were duly dished up fried eggs and the works. Had a coffee in the lobby on our first day but in the evening the coffe bar was closed so had to resort to going to the nearby McDonalds to get a coffee. The one and only visit in 51 days of travel.
Had a wonderful visit to Xian including cycling on the city walls, visiting the hot springs and a wonderful foot massage.
When we went out at night we got a surprise at the hotels on the street all colourfully lit up not to mention the bustling about of vendors and people/shops on the street below the hotel and in fromt of the hotel!!! In China they love to light things up.
A great location and a good value hotel - it beat some of the so called 4 star hotels we stayed at later in our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Wenyuan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2007

This hotel is located in the main square of Xi’An, between the Drum Tower, the Bell Tower and the Muslim Street.
The shuttle bus for the airport stops at the opposite site of the square. There are buses for the railway station. Plenty of shops and restaurant all around.
We were welcomed by friendly and professional staff.
Our room was a double king bed room, fairly large and silent. The bathroom needed a little renewal but everything was very clean. The only problem was that it wasn’t a no smoking room and you could see some cigarette burn here and there.
We had a good toilette supply, including tooth brush, comb and slippers. There was a charge for the 2 liters bottle of water.
On our arrival they took us a small dish of cookies.
The price of the room was 280 RMB/night

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed one night in May 2007 at Wen Yuan Hotel in Xi'an.
It has an excellent location, right in the Bell and Drum Towers square.
We got a very spacious room with two big individual beds. The hotel was quiet and a good choice for the price, as we payed 50 USD / room/night, but there are also rooms with 35 USD/night.
Room and bathroom were clean.
We didn't try the breakfast, but it was included in the room price.
Reception staff speak very little English and will understand only basic phrases.
I would recommend this hotel for the good location it has and the good price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Good-Karma-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed for just three days in Xi'an and thus just two night in the Wen Yuan hotel.

We had a translator with us, so we had no problems with checking in, but the English was poor. The rooms were quite okay, certainly for the rates they were charging.

The hotel is located between the Drum and the Belltower, and is right next to the muslim street, so you are right between some of the attractions of Xi'an.

If you want to get a good diner, than you should go to the restaurant of the hotel, but keep in mind that although they advertise with the possibilities of a Western breakfast, is this not available during the offseason.

The only thing negative thing we encountered was that upon checkout, the staff promised to get our baggage and arrange a taxi. Infact, they couldn't arrange a taxi because there were no taxi's available. They never told us so, and as we had to catch a train we took our own baggage from the baggage room (never saw anybody, I could walk right in it) and walked towards the curb. All of a sudden one of the staff started "helping" us finding a cab. When some Chinese girl stole our cab, he suddenly slammed the door of the cab shut, and told us we had to wait!!! Luckely, our translator managed to get another one with the help of some locals and we were off. But this checkout "service" almost caused us to miss our train!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AndyPlanet043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I stayed at this facility in mid-May and had a mixed experience. Strong points: good sized room for the money, decent and clean facilities, great location especially if you are interested in the Muslim Quarter which I cannot say enough good things about. There was a basic failure to communicate. I would suggest that unless you or one of your party has at least passable Mandarin you should avoid this hotel. One clerk was quite good, but when she was not available, communication was difficult. I had a ten minute conversation just trying to find out if I needed to reconfirm my plane tickets. Staff was quite knowledgable when translation was available. A former student of mine from Singapore said they have an expression when languages can't be bridged...like a duck trying to talk to a chicken.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: le nostre 6 stanze erano nell'ala B e tutte buone
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
Thank YSD0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
Bell Tower Hotel
#54 of 2,616 in Xi'an
918 reviews
Nanjiao
Guozhan Business Hotel
Guozhan Business Hotel
#668 of 2,616 in Xi'an
15 reviews
Beilin District
Bailian Business Hotel
Bailian Business Hotel
#168 of 2,616 in Xi'an
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#37 of 2,616 in Xi'an
243 reviews
Beilin District
The Silk Road in Chang‘an Youth Space
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenyuan Hotel

Address: No.8 Shehui Road, Lianhu District | No.9 Gulou Square, West Main Street, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range: $34 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenyuan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wenyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanxi Wenyuan Xi An
Wenyuan Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing