We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #10 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed with my daughter during a short weekend visit to Xian. The hotel room was spacious (by Asian standards) and about normal (by North American standards). The bathroom was large and everything worked well. The beds were a bit uncomfortable as they were worn, but I still slept well. The breakfast buffet was the best we had during our entire trip! I am very sensitive to smoke and had requested a non-smoking room. I had no difficulty with smoke at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square with us, we are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your satisfaction is what we pursue most. Each ambassador at Grand Mercure tries his best to present a superior service to every guest. Therefore, your feedback will definitely serve as an encouragement and a motivation for our unceasing progress.

We thank you for your kind comments again and it is our hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    390
    116
    37
    13
See reviews for
161
355
73
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Some in our party had to change rooms after the plumbing leaked or would not work. The windows actually open in this old Russian-style building and that let in bugs. Dining room was one of the best and the little park in the private square was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square with us, we are very glad to learn that you are satisfied with the dining room and the little park.

Meantime,it comes to my concern that some in your party encountered hardware issues,like plumbing etc.I am so sorry that this was a disappointement and please rest assured that we take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We thank you for your kind comments again and it is our hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed just one night at the Grand Mercure and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Pros:
- location - within 3-4 blocks of Muslim area for great eating; very secure area (grouped with Sofitel); 1.5km walk from train station
- bed - super soft (by North American standards), excellent pillows and gigantic (double+twin)
- room size - average (plenty of room for 2 suitcases, 2 guest chairs, huge bed, wardrobe {slippers & robes!}, small foyer + bathroom with shower enclosed in tub area)
- staff - all spoke a good amount of english and were able to help us with everything (including getting us into the room at 9:30am in the morning!)
Cons:
- only access is through front gates (side gate aren't accessible), and hotel is at back of compound.
- taxis are hard to come by for short trips (but easy if you're heading to Terracotta Warriors).

There must be an array of rooms, as some reviews mentioned very small rooms with smoke smell and worn carpets - ours was excellent - a full 4 star feel.
Didn't eat at hotel.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room, looked back to apt block, K-size bed - and the room was excellent (just no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfbnp200e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square with us, we are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your satisfaction is what we pursue most. Each ambassador at Grand Mercure tries his best to present a superior service to every guest. Therefore, your feedback will definitely serve as an encouragement and a motivation for our unceasing progress.

We thank you for your kind comments again and it is our hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick East, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Alright let me start by saying this hotel is stunning from the outside, the gardens are beautiful as is the hotel. This changes once your inside, Our room was tiny - and I mean small. I have stayed in caravans bigger then this. The previous guests had smoked in the room and it stunk. The staff gave us two air purifies but this did not work (no offer to change rooms). I love a nice bathroom and like it to be clean, and this bathroom was small and the shower was cramped and in need of some serious maintenance, the shower head was horrid. The bed was small and very uncomfortable and the Wifi was hardly usable.
Was great being able to use the pool and gym at the other hotel, but the gym was hot and once again very small. The breakfast was fine, not great and the staff at the desk were all very friendly and super helpful. The hotel was not in the best location but not a huge walk from the main action. We were a bit disappointed with our stay here and I would definitely look at other options next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square with us, we are very glad to learn that you are satisfied with the breakfast and regard our staff as being helpful.

Meantime,it comes to my concern that you encountered some hardware issues,like airconditioner,shower etc.I am so sorry that this was a disappointement and please rest assured that we take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We thank you for your kind comments again and it is our hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed recently at the Grand Mercure Xian. We stayed in the standard rooms. The hotel location is good and clean surroundings. The hotel lobby is small and the standard room is also small. Staff are friendly but not 5 star standards. The bed is comfortable but the pillows are too soft. Nearly same variety of breakfast every day, sick of it after second day. The hotel has no facilities. If you want to use the swimming pool or the gym, you have to walk to next building, Sofitel Hotel which is the sister property. It is inconvenient. The swimming pool at Sofitel Hotel is very small. Staff service is also not up to my expectation as a 5 star hotel. I will try other hotel if I am going to Xian again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GohCLKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square with us, we are very glad to learn that you were satisfied with the location and surroundings here. Your satisfaction is what we pursue most. Each ambassador at Grand Mercure tries his best to present a superior service to every guest. Therefore, your feedback will definitely serve as an encouragement and a motivation for our unceasing progress.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative departments.

We thank you for your kind comments again and it is our hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let us begin with the positive sides:
a) People at the desk are very friendly and helpful (especially the young gentleman on the night shift).
b) Thanks to a router in the room, the wi-fi signal is excellent. So good actually, that you can play the videos on the foreign news sites: A rarity in China.
c) The location on Renmin Square is probably the best in town.
d) The breakfast is good. We loved their Espresso.
e) All the staff speaks excellent English. This includes the young ladies serving breakfast.

The facility is a bit on the dark and older side, but this is OK.

More of an issue, however, are the rugs.in the rooms. Though clean, they have already seen "generations" of travellers and they thus spread a somewhat dismal atmosphere. Putting in new rugs would be no luxury.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CSTZug_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative departments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Earth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Only stayed for a couple of nights, there's everything you need within a good budget, its well placed and feels safe too. Breakfast perfectly adequate and for China provides a reasonable range of Western choices, but nearby are plenty of alternatives should you need them. Near to the Warriors and other places you might want to visit - you wouldn't want to spend all day here, but for overnights and breakfast its got what most people would need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing