We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
$130
$124
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$71
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Melia Xi'an(Xi'an)
$127
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$387
$296
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Xian(Xi'an)
$74
$71
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveler rating
346
428
134
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
428
134
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenmin squareother hotelssame complexbell towermuslim quarterterracotta warriorsminute walkfront desk staffbreakfast buffethotel is locatedtaxi driverhuge bedcomfortable staystandard roomsofitel legendcomfortable hotelchinese food
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 966 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and our friends stayed at this hotel for two nights while on a bespoke trip of China organised by Trailfinders. The choice of hotels for the whole holiday was out of our hands, but we certainly couldn’t fault this hotel in terms of the overall standard – it was listed as a four star but realistically would have a been a three (or three and a half!) by western standards.
The hotel is in Renmin Square, a hotel and conference complex in the old town of Xi’an. Having just spent three nights in Beijing, the old town of Xi’an, although busy, was a welcome change to the bustle of Beijing.
Our hotel was a little disappointing after staying at a more luxurious hotel in Beijing for the previous three nights. The overall first impressions were nice as we entered Renmin square, and even the hotel foyer. Again we were escorted to our rooms and our luggage taken up by the bell boy, as expected. The room was a good standard and a reasonable size – comfortable enough for two adults without getting in the way of each other moving around the room. However, the decor leaned towards the warm and cosy side, which leads to a darker room rather than a brighter one. All the usual stuff was there as would be expected from a hotel of this kind; minibar, flat screen TV, bathroom complimentaries, tea and coffee, etc. However, the bathroom was a bit old fashioned in that the bath itself had a plastic shower screen on a rail, plus the shower arm held by a bracket which seemed to be unable to move more than an inch or so – not a big deal but it did make for a slightly awkward shower experience.
The hotel did not have a bar, and the only restaurant was used as a lunch or dinner room for conference guests, so the only time we got to use it was for breakfast. Breakfast itself was quite good – a lot of choice and I got my full English, which was a good thing with a long day ahead. However, for meals we either had to leave the hotel, or we could use the sister hotel (still in the grounds of the complex) which was a one minute walk across the square, the Sofitel.
The Sofitel was bright and modern, with several restaurants. On our first night we used the main one on the ground floor. As always with a captive western market, prices were quite high compared with like for like in an English restaurant back home for the same meal, but that’s life!
Drinks in the bar were also steep, at around £7 for a beer, but fortunately no 15% service charge. Service was good, and we were kept supplied with peanuts or snacks while we were drinking. There was also a smoking room inside the foyer bar, but to be honest two of our party were smokers and went outside instead – they said that walking into the smoking room they felt they didn’t need to light up because of the amount of smoke inside!
Location wise, the main road outside the hotel was busy, but there was nowhere to go and eat or spend the evening, but, walking about a hundred yards in either direction lead to busier roads that intersected the area, and these seemed brightly lit up with shops and I’m sure I spotted a few restaurants, so there seemed to be better choice if you are prepared to walk, or even venture out in a taxi. I should point out here that we were on a three city hop, so it was now midweek for us, and we had quite a heavy schedule each day - therefore we weren’t disposed to venturing too far from the hotels at night because we just wanted to relax.
Overall experience was quite good but I wouldn’t want to spend more than two nights there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air con - I don't think all rooms have it. The air con is controlled, along with lights etc, by a beside console which is quite handy. However, windows do open quite wide.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel, in nice surroundings. Good value for money, breakfast choice excellent. Lots of restaurants in the grounds of hotel. Staff very professional and helpful. 15Min stroll to drum and bell towers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazmaz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We originally booked to stay at the Mercure but were upgraded to the Grand Mercure because they had a function on and had over booked - we were quite happy with this. Our room was excellent, large and very clean. The bathroom was spacious, clean and had a good size bath.
The Grand Mercure doesn't have much in the way of facilities itself but you can use the Sofitel and we made good use of the swimming pool area there. The pool complex is fantastic - great jacuzzi spa - only negative was the spitting - surely in a 5 star hotel they don't need to allow spitting all over the pool deck - fortunately we only saw it once but it was pretty disgusting and two members of staff stood by and watched. I know they spit in China but inside?? Not pleasant.
We found the bar prices very high but the food was better value. Room service was excellent - the member of staff I spoke to on the phone couldn't understand me and next thing I knew she was at the door with her copy of the menu to take my order - I was very impressed. The food was great too. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here - the location is great - Renmin Square is a little way from the Drum/Bell Tower area (we walked it in about 15 minutes) but worth it for the peace and quiet after a busy day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, I am very concerned to read from your comments related to some concerns about the swimming pool. We are sorry for any inconvenience causedPlease rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel was big, clean, comfortable and quiet. While it was nothing special it was more than enough for our three days exploring the city and using it as a base to go and see the Terracotta Warriors.

We were upgraded to a king sized room on check in - although to be honest the check in service was a little below what I expected. It was a bit rushed and abrupt.

Couldn't fault the room at all - and although breakfast was expensive it was worth it for the variety and convenience. It seemed very quiet at breakfast most mornings so not sure if everyone else was still in bed!!

The hotel is a little way out of the city - there are not many places to eat and drink nearby. We didn't mind this at all but I can understand that for some guests a 15/ 20 minute walk to get to the 'action' might be a bit far. The Sofitel bar and Azur restaurant across the complex are both excellent though if a little pricey.

We paid 400 RMB to get there and back to the Warriors and only 35RMB to get to the hotel from the Xian North train station. This was in a green and yellow public taxi. Beware of other taxi drivers trying to get you into one without a meter!! Its about 30 mins to the North Train Station and around 1 hour to get to the Warriors.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back - i.e. not facing the square - are near a sports arena of some sort and in the morning and on an evening you can hear the announcements in Chinese over the loud speaker. We loved this - but others may not!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, I am very concerned to read from your comments related to check-in experience. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but we are grateful that you shared this with us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Reservation made by china tours. Hotel do not deserve being part of accor/ mercure chain.Manager / reception staff speak a very poor english . No room service after 10:00 pm. Poor breakfast and important ROOMS DOS NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING I!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you need A/C to sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Xian. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought it to the attention of the relative departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grand Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews