We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, great service, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #9 of 2,653 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Grand Mercure Xian is a very good choice for your stay in Xian. The hotel is located in the old city, 10 minutes walk from the famous bell tower, in a charming and quiet compound along with other hotels (the Sofitel and the People's Hotel). The room was very clean and nicely decorated in 50s style. The bed, an extra king size, was very comfortable and plush. The bathroom had both shower and bathtub, the towels and vanity set were of excellent quality. Breakfast was delicious with both Asiatic and continental choices. Staff was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a very quiet compound so all rooms should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiniaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 930 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

stayed there december 2012 - very nice front office staff, helped us to change train tickets from xian, organised taxi to train station and best of all arrived at the hotel at 5:30 am in the morning and were greeted with smiling face and was allowed to check in. Amazing. One of the best hotels I have stayed so far so I had to come back to write this review

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

You are warmly welcomed (with a smile) as soon as you walk up the stairs to the front doors. Our 4 night stay was made pleasant by the helpfulness on the staffing at all levels, especially those at reception & on the door. English wasn't their first language but we were able to communicate our requirements without any hassles. They even booked an additional tour we wanted. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu was very comprehesive. The location was very central to most of the attraction in Xi'an.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just back from 3 nights in Xian. Grand Mercure was a perfect hotel in many ways.

Pluses:
Large and comfortable room
Clean
Quiet
Pleasant staff with greetings coming and going
No problems with English - one desk clerk spoke English and Bell Hop conversed as well. Desk clerk was very accomodating providing assistance by writing out address of our next hotel in Chinese for ease of communicating with taxi driver - much appreciated.
Security around the building - it is a little dark coming in off of the main street into the hotel complex but there are security people out with walkie talkies and they are alert - felt comfortable.
Staff were responsive - had one problem with a closet light and mentioned on way out in the morning - it was fixed upon our return.
Great breakfast choices and good service at buffet - quick with the coffee thankfully!
Close to local department store - Ren Renle where you can buy groceries, snacks, clothing, wine, and eat at the food fair - turn left on exit from hotel then second light with the underground crosswalk - kitty corner.
Another good restaurant about a block and a half the other direction - don't have an English name but when you come out of hotel complex, turn right go down to crosswalk, after crossing street walk about a block in the same direction then go around a corner at major intersection. Restaurant is on second floor. Picture menu - lots of choice, very fresh and steaming food, hostess speaks some English and will gladly help out.
Park area right in front - trees, greenery, fresh!
Nothing broken - seems odd to say but our experience in China was that there is always something not quite right.
Safe and clean area to wander - just beware of the traffic and lack of yielding to pedestrians even on green crossing signals.

Con
Not really a con - more of a need to understand on our part - we were naive in thinking that because it was right in the walled city it would be right in the middle of lots of history. Instead, it is really in the middle of a city with newer buildings all around. I would still stay here again though - just understand the reality. It isn't like Florence or Quebec City. The Wall is nearby and the Muslim quarter very interesting and historical.

Room Tip: as mentioned - there is some kind of stadium at the rear and there is some noise from it. We had a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVRTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend to visit the Terracotta Warriors and the city of Xi'an. The hotel is in an excellent location as it is within walking distance of the Drum and Bell Towers and the Muslim Quarter. Prior to our stay, communication with the hotel was amazing. We wanted to book a tour-guide and a driver to take us to the Terracotta Warriors Museum on the Saturday to maximise our weekend break and the staff could not have been more efficient or helpful in their responses. We took the overnight train from Beijing and when we arrived at the hotel, the driver and guide were there waiting for us. Caroline, the front desk agent, was really friendly and knew that it was our friend's birthday and wished her a happy birthday! The staff at the hotel was very courteous and extremely helpful, each one wishing us a lovely day and welcoming us back etc. Their command of English is also amazing and made communication much easier. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well. The shower was also great. Breakfast was lovely and a great selection of Western and Chinese food. Carl, in the breakfast room, was incredibly friendly and was a pleasure to chat to in the morning. We took the high speed train back to Beijing and walked to the subway station, which took us directly to the high speed train station. The staff is definitely this hotel's strength and is one of the main reasons why I would recommend and want to stay at this property again should I visit Xi'an again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting me know that on this occasion we made it.

I particularly appreciated your giving me the names of people who excelled and it was a great pleasure to share your compliments with them. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 4th3n4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,653 in Xi'an
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,653 in Xi'an
1,247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,653 in Xi'an
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $50 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing