We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had booked the Sofitel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #8 of 2,659 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

There are both good and bad points to this hotel, however for us they swayed towards the bad unfortunately which rather hampered our view of this hotel.
Let's start with the location--pretty good! Is just a 15 min leisurely walk from the centre of the City (i.e. the Bell Tower) and is in a complex with the other Accors brands.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a warm welcome by the reception staff and having booked a standard room asked if any upgrades were available (and willing to pay). The receptionist informed us that they could upgrade us for free which is always a positive. On getting to the room I am glad we got the upgrade and even more so that we didn't pay for it or have a standard room! The actual bedroom isn't too bad at all with a very big bed, but for a 4 star hotel there are little things that are just odd. For instance, there was only a bedside table on one side of the bed, which meant putting my glasses on something at night rather difficult.I moved the table by the chairs to aid but housekeeping kept putting it back!
The bathroom is by far the worst thing about these rooms--old, tired, dirty and simply needs a refurb. The wierd bath/shower enclosure was something we had never seen before (somewhat akin to a wet room but badly done) but it was the cracked tiles and the ground in mould that raised the eyebrows. On the positive, loved the scales in the bathroom, very funky!
Whilst there, everytime we wandered around the hotel, we were puzzled as to why we weren't taking to the hotel and then it hit us--it lacks personality. The corridors are very bland and without character and a lack of art. For us it just didn't feel that welcoming, but this was just us.
Maybe we were a little jaded having just flown in from Shanghai and stayed at some stunning hotels but this hotel just didn't do it for us. Having gone to one of the restaurants within the Sofitel (the Brazilian Grill--highly recommended!) and seen how beautiful that was inside, we wished we had paid that little bit extra and stayed there.
Another thing of note were the leisure facilities at the Sofitel (Grand Mercure doesn't have its own)--but not really for good reasons. The pool and spa look beautiful and the staff are really friendly, but it was simply dirty. Whilst in the pool, we were bobbing around the edge and were holding on to the edge only to feel it was all grimey--not what you want in a hotel swimming pool. We found this was the same in the hot tub too which was a shame.
We hate sounding negative but of the many hotels we stayed in during our China trip this was by far the worst.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and stay at the Sofitel within Renmin Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliepaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Xian. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 937 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is set in a 'complex' of a few hotels, it looks a little dated but we found it fine for what we needed.
It is about a 30 minute walk from the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim quarter. Tried to find de fa chang dumpling restaurant but couldn't so had some street food in the Muslim quarter, some of it was nice, some not. Worth a try though.
We visited the Terracotta warriors by booking a taxi through the hotel which cost 400 yuan (about £40), the driver takes you, waits for a couple of hours and brings you back, about an hour each way.
Also cycled the city wall which was an experience, you hire a bike from one of the gates, we used the south gate, pay a deposit and off you go. You get 100 minutes and if you get back in time you get your deposit back, we took 75 minutes and were just steady away so plenty of time.

Finally, we had an meal at the Brazilian restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it, cost about £100 for two of us including a few drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goafishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the Brazilian restaurant dinning experience in particular.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room is fittingly decorated in traditional Chinese theme but they also integrated some modern elements - a central control panel near the bed that you can switch on/off all the lights, air-conditioning, and alarm clock in the room. Downside is the reception area is a bit small, the elevator smells a bit like cigarette, and there is virtually none facilities available for entertainment/guests/conferences. However, for the price (<$70) it is good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be more pleasant one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room was on the first floor and quite well furbished unlike what other reviewers have mentioned. Only problem is the tub leaked so the bathroom floor was a pool of water after a bath. The hotel though quiet is very near the Bell Tower and Drum Tower and both nights we ordered room service which was quick and good. The front desk helped us go on a tour even though we booked at the last minute.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sahibbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a traveler who likes to walk through the local area and to tourist sites, I found this hotel to be a perfect location. I took airport shuttle to city center and then walked to hotel (less than 30 minute walk). Since the Bell Tower and Drum Tower are in same area as shuttle drop off I walked to them and the Muslim Street. Also walked to Tourist Bus to go to Terra Cotta Warrior Museum.

Hotel itself was very good. A little older but still very comfortable. My reservation included a breakfast buffet which was a great start to the day. I found the room to be clean and the bed very comfortable. Housekeeping did a fine job. Staff were very friendly and willing to help.

I detailed my visit to a Chinese colleague who visited shortly after I did. He was extremely pleased with my recommendation. I would eagerly return to this hotel in my next trip to Xi'an.

Only oddity was actually getting to the hotel building. There is an entrance from Xinjie St into what appears like a gated community. The entrance road circles around to the hotel which is not visible from the entrance. Enter through this gate and then go either direction and you'll find the hotel behind. I even arrived in the evening, after dark and had no trouble getting to the building, just stopped for a minute at the gate to confirm I was at the right location. There are signs on the walls on either side that confirm the Grand Mercure is here.

Not a 5 star hotel but I still found it to be an excellent choice for the money I spent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A perfect place to be based for visiting Xi'an. Not too far from the Station, Muslim Quarter etc etc. Our room was rather dated and badly lit and the bathroom was very old fashioned with cracked tiles and dodgy fittings, but on the plus side, the hotel was very quiet and the quality of sleep was good. It was a bit irritating that the concierge would not get us a taxi at the door when it was raining heavily but told us that we had to go to the entrance of Renmin Square and find our own cab!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and used it as a base to go and see the Terracotta Warriors which are a "must see".
The hotel is part of a complex in its own grounds and is beautifully laid out. The hotel is adequately served with restaurants ranging from a Brazilian Buffet to Cantonese. We ate in the Cantonese and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and were happy to chat with you. Our room was nicely laid out and the bathroom was exceptionally large and nice. I did however find the bed too firm for my liking. One small complaint was that I had to use my mobile phone to illuminate the safety deposit box instructions which were located on the safe at floor level in the wardrobe in the corner of the room.
Having said that I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is centrally located not far from the Bell Tower and the city wall. Xian is far different and far nicer than Beijing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bejay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mecure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,659 in Xi'an
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,659 in Xi'an
529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,659 in Xi'an
761 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,659 in Xi'an
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing