We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #12 of 2,688 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and used it as a base to go and see the Terracotta Warriors which are a "must see".
The hotel is part of a complex in its own grounds and is beautifully laid out. The hotel is adequately served with restaurants ranging from a Brazilian Buffet to Cantonese. We ate in the Cantonese and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and were happy to chat with you. Our room was nicely laid out and the bathroom was exceptionally large and nice. I did however find the bed too firm for my liking. One small complaint was that I had to use my mobile phone to illuminate the safety deposit box instructions which were located on the safe at floor level in the wardrobe in the corner of the room.
Having said that I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is centrally located not far from the Bell Tower and the city wall. Xian is far different and far nicer than Beijing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bejay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mecure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 945 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good location within walking distance to attractions. The hotel is an old building, but the rooms are lovely, clean, well furnished and large. The bathroom was large, well equipped and with a large bath. The buffet breakfast was a high standard and we thoroughly enjoyed the choices of some local and western dishes. The girls at the breakfast were a delight and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live-dream-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in an excellent location. Breakfast is basic. Rooms are clean. Overall the hotels interior is a bit dated. Needs a good revamp. Bathroom is very old. Within walking distance to tourist locations such as Bell Tower , Drum Tower , and Grand Mosque.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Flausa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the main shopping area. Rooms are large and well furnished, large bathroom with separate shower. Hotel grounds are nice, breakfast was pretty standard. Hotel coffee shop had nice freshly baked pastries. Overall a good hotel and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Bit shell-shocked to come in to such a posh hotel, largely catering for the conference goer.
Staff very helpful and well run hotel. No complaints and setting is really beatiful-an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Xian.

Room Tip: Not really sure-we were on 5th floor and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What I liked:
- Nice location and close to all the main sites
- Good breakfast
- Huge room and bathroom
- Quiet and relaxing

What I didn't like
- Wi-fi network very slow
- Room was a bit dark, need more light

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed at the Grand Mercure for one night, but found the staff extremely friendly that will go out of the way to help you. There is free wifi in all areas, so it was nice not having to pay for it. The room was on the smaller side, but the bed was very comfortable. The only negative on the room is that the shower head holder was broken, so if you didn't hold on to it, you would flood the bathroom. I found out the hard way. Location is very close to all the main sites, and if you have the energy you can walk to the Bell and Drum Towers and the great Muslim area. We were heading to Shanghai via train at 10pm the next day, and the staff phoned over to the Sofitel to let us shower and change in their spa for no charge.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay more in Xi'An.

Room Tip: Easiest way to travel around the city of Xi'An is by tuk tuk. It can be quite scary sometimes an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BsaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,688 in Xi'an
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,688 in Xi'an
525 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,688 in Xi'an
779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,688 in Xi'an
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $57 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing