We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #10 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good and relaxing”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What I liked:
- Nice location and close to all the main sites
- Good breakfast
- Huge room and bathroom
- Quiet and relaxing

What I didn't like
- Wi-fi network very slow
- Room was a bit dark, need more light

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    392
    119
    37
    13
See reviews for
163
357
73
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed at the Grand Mercure for one night, but found the staff extremely friendly that will go out of the way to help you. There is free wifi in all areas, so it was nice not having to pay for it. The room was on the smaller side, but the bed was very comfortable. The only negative on the room is that the shower head holder was broken, so if you didn't hold on to it, you would flood the bathroom. I found out the hard way. Location is very close to all the main sites, and if you have the energy you can walk to the Bell and Drum Towers and the great Muslim area. We were heading to Shanghai via train at 10pm the next day, and the staff phoned over to the Sofitel to let us shower and change in their spa for no charge.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay more in Xi'An.

Room Tip: Easiest way to travel around the city of Xi'An is by tuk tuk. It can be quite scary sometimes an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BsaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Adequate hotel and room. Clean, nice bath, plenty of hot water, and adequate but not over the top breakfasts. Very close to the main drag downtown and in an upscale neighborhood. The layout is kind of strange as it is like in a compound with 4 to five separate buildings. It is hard to remember at first which building is yours as they are close together and all look the same. However after three nights there I had it down pat. Good location and easy to find nice places to eat surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting us know that on this occasion we made it.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Given what we paid and what we got I have no complaints at all! The rooms were big and spacious. Location was very central. Staff spoke English which is always handy. Breakfast had great variety so would I stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gracie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation. This is certainly what we strive to achieve but I am grateful to you for letting us know that on this occasion we made it.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had originally booked the Mercure on Renmin square for our stay in Xian. However, once we got there we were told that we were upgraded to the Grand Mercure which is also in Renmin Square but only further back in.

Thinking that we scored a great deal as the Mercure was cheaper then the Grand Mercure we were all very excited about this upgrade.

However once we got to our rooms we were told that only 2 twin bedrooms are only available during our stay. We put through a request if they could push the beds in for us but they simple said they couldn't. The single beds were so small that i didn't have any good sleep at all during our stay.

Breakfast was surprisingly good, but it was a far walk from where our room was.

If we had known the location of the Grand Mercure we would of not agreed to this upgrade. It was much further in the Square so when you are coming back from your night out you have to walk the empty dark streets further into the square to get to your hotel. The reason why we had booked the Mercure in the first place was because it was conveniently located at the front of the main street.

Lesson learnt, not all upgrades are for the better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
417 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Behind gates off a busy Xi'an street,this hotel, nestled amongst other medium sized hotels, restaurants and a music venue, is a quiet secluded oasis of the busy city. It was a very pleasant surprise to venture to the back of the large "square"-- really a collection of smaller alcoves and small avenues, to this modern, yet old world feeling Very European style hotel. The rooms were European small, yet very comfortable, reminiscent of wood paneled locations in Italy or like countries. The small and efficient reception area was a welcome alternative to the mega lobby hotels, and the fresh flower arrangements greeting the weary traveller were beautiful and fragrant. This was a low rise, and had windows that actually opened, and that you would want to open as there was no "street" to make noise. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, coffee was good, and there were a variety of searing arrangements from tables for two to larger round Chinese style group seating. a very pleasant and restful stay. right outside the hotel was a lovely garden and pagoda-- trees were blossoming with pink flowers which lent to the tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in Xi'an, in order to visit the Terracotta Warriors and Horses (a must-see in China!), and stayed at Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square.
This grand low-rise hotel was fantastic, and shares restaurants and bars with the adjacent Sofitel (also within Renmin Square), so there were plenty of choices for eating and drinking other than having to find local places.
The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and communicating in English was fine.
Highly recommended for a stay in Xi'an.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,550 in Xi'an
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,550 in Xi'an
1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,550 in Xi'an
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing