We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in wonderful Xian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #9 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I originally booked at the Mercure, but they were renovating so we got an upgrade to the grand Mercure. This hotel was perfect. Beautiful rooms, great location and above all the best staff of any place we stayed in China. They bent over backwards to do everything they could for us. We were really impressed with this place.

W also ate at the Brazilian BBQ restaurant in the Sofitel and it was excellent as well. Great staff and food, totally worth checking out while you're there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 917 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was big and clean. The bathroom was pretty big as well. The breakfast was a mix of Asian and western with a lot of different selections. The hallway and lobby area were pretty cold during the winter (you need to wear a jacket in the lobby). The staff was very nice and helpful, some English was better than others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the meantime, I was very concerned to learn that you found the temperature of hotel lobby disappointing. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience because of this and we are following up now to determine how to ensure that such a defect does not recur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked to stay at the Mecure but due to it being the winter period the Mecure was closed so we were upgraded to the Grand Mecure. The Mecure, Grand Mecure and The Sofitel all exist within a gated community that also contains a variety of restaurants and lovely gardens.
Although the staff were friendly at the Grand Mecure we found the staff at the Sofitel much more helpful particularly when it came to organising a tour to the warriors and getting to tourist spots. Xi'an is very difficult to get around. The help that the staff at the Sofitel gave us was invaluable. They organised transport and gave us some good advice. Don't expect to be able to catch a taxi in Xian. They don't stop.
We were very happy with our stay at the Grand Mecure. The rooms were clean, the atmosphere quiet and the environment welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondebride86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Mercure for two nights while we were in Xi’an to see the terra cotta warriors.

The Grand Mercure is located in the lovely Renmin Square, where the Sofitel and Mercure are also located. It’s almost like a gated community with hotel blocks, set in a peaceful and beautifully landscaped square away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I was a little disappointed when I arrived at the lobby of the Grand Mercure. It was small with only a couple of counters for check-in, not at all what I would expect for a four-star hotel. In fact, the lobby of the Mercure looks even better than the Grand Mercure, which puzzled me as it was quite a bit less expensive.

The service we received at check-in was great. Overall, the room was alright, Chinese 4-star standard. I was surprised at how much the room service cost. The food itself was pretty good and the breakfast set we ordered was a lot of food for one person. I’d advise to order local Chinese food from the menu as they don’t do Western food very well. The eggs Benedict we ordered came with spam and a suspect ‘Hollandaise’ sauce.

The hotel is about 20min from the Muslim Quarter, where the ‘night life’ was with its street eats and stalls.

The Grand Mercure would be more than sufficient if you’re looking for just an average hotel to spend a night or two while you sightsee Even so, the Mercure would probably be a better option for less.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dashador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a longer tour of China. This hotel is nicely appointed, in a good location for exploring the City. Rooms are clean, stylishly decorated with all the usual amenities expected of a good quality hotel. Staff were attentive and helpful and most spoke good English. Food a little on the expensive side and not many western choices if you are tiring of chinese food by the time you get here. Wine very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise40smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in a standard room for two nights after being upgraded from the Mercure. I was generally impressed with the room size and amenities. The room did feel a little dated but was impeccably clean. Location was great too - in a quiet area but still very close to the railway station where you can get the bus to the Terracotta Warriors. Staff were lovely and spoke great English, and check in and out was very fast. I had a very early flight out of Xi'an and the staff were very helpful in organising a taxi to the airport. My main issues with the room were the dim lighting and slow aircon. The aircon was set to high when I arrived and the room was insufferably hot for the next two days even though I adjusted the settings. This made sleeping particularly difficult! My other issue was the breakfast buffet, which didn't look as if it was being regularly replenished and when I ate there, not much variety was available. However since I received the upgrade from the Mercure, I only paid the Mercure price for breakfast, so I think I still got my money's worth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EM1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a difference after the devastating we had experienced in Beijing... There is a huge difference in the service and quality given between Western chain hotels and 5 star Chinese state hotels....
The welcoming, the friendliness, the service everything was outstanding .
BEAUTIFUL, COMFORTABLE AND QUIET rooms; superb bathrooms;
I just loved it
People really tried to help you make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The only regret I had was tha t we had only 2 nights here...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.0 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,616 in Xi'an
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,616 in Xi'an
1,210 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,616 in Xi'an
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $60 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing