We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not the romantic image I imagined!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Museum

Xi'an Museum
Book In Advance
$72.70*
and up
Private Day Tour of Terracotta Warriors, Xi'an Museum, Small Wild Goose Pagoda...
Ranked #12 of 334 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the romantic image I imagined!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The name conjured up for me images of flying geese. Quite far off the mark! A nice enough little pagoda. Maybe I was a little spoiled with the amazing range of images of this complex country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbb961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    165
    58
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is a peaceful place in visit in a busy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A lovely peaceful park is around the Pagoda and it is a nice place to relax with some good photo opportunities available. Part of a hectic tour it made an enjoyable break.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amcloughlin137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
625 reviews
359 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Lovely Park and Dancing Fountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We didn't have time to visit the pagoda itself as the queues were enormous (it was Chinese National Holiday), but the park was fascinating; very busy, well laid out, plenty of places to eat (both Chinese and Western).
At 2pm every afternoon the fountains 'dance' to Chinese and western classical music for half an hour. It really was a spectacular display.
The park is free to enter, the only charge being to see the pagoda itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Fabrics and Jade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a relatively small museum which mainly houses an exhibition of jade artefacts and exquisite dresses and costumes dating right up to the twentieth century. Unlike most other sites entry is free! In the grounds is the Small Goose Pagoda.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dermot1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The whole garden/grounds area of the Small Goose Pagoda are quite well kept and picturesque. I especially enjoyed the rose garden which added some beautiful colour to my pictures of the pagoda. I didn't take time to go through the museum because I'm not much of a fan, but presenting your passport (or photocopy) will get you free entrance to the grounds and museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank huggabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing