We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointing after the Terracotta warriors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)

Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Private Tour: Tomb of Emperor Jingdi with Xi'an Airport Transfer
Ranked #8 of 332 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The joint mausoleum of Emperor Jingdi and Empress Wang, his consort.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing after the Terracotta warriors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

First go to visit this place and than the Terracotta warriors. I recommend you to to do as I mentioned, otherwise you could be really disappointed. This place is as far as Terracotta warriors from the city center and it is actually a big underground museum. IT could be interesting if you have a passion for this kind of thing like tons of small object and small archeological treasure. Honestly this is definitely not my kind of place, but it is still interesting to take a look around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    155
    44
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great underground museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the last item on our Xian trip and we wanted to see what the supposedly first ever large scale underground museum in the world will look like. We came away very impressed with the whole structures and the items on display although the actual tomb remains closed to this day. Do not miss this museum on your way from or to the airport as it is very close.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having seen the Terracottas, this tomb seems boring. With lots of small wooden puppets. There are many other tombs to explore. I would give this place a miss if time is limited

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rooster1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than the Terracotta Warriors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I will be completely honest, I was somewhat underwhelmed by the Terracotta Warriors. Don't get me wrong, I find the discovery and history of the warriors themselves absolutely amazing, it is just that for the total cost and the distance from Xi-an there is not a great deal to see at the actual site that isn't in photos you have most likely already seen. The Tomb of Emperor Jingdi, on the other hand, was incredibly impressive. It is very easy to access - Happy22Share's directions below are spot on and make it significantly cheaper than an organised tour. The bus is very easy to navigate as it is the first and last stop. The displays are informative and have both English and French translations and the 20 minute video near the shop at the end is amazing. Obviously the Terracotta Warriors are a must see but please do not miss this!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great to see after visiting the Warriors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was great to visit after the Warriors.
Do understand how the Qin Emperor thought and wanted to come back in the future is amazing.
There are multiple levels to view.
The displays and exhibits are unique and excellent.
It is a great way understand the history of the Emperor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gcrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling) also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing