We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Complement to the Better Known Terracotta Warriors”

Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.90*
and up
Private Day Tour of Xi'an Hanyang Ling Tomb with One-Way Airport Transfer
More Info
$61.91*
and up
Private Tour: Tomb of Emperor Jingdi with Xi'an Airport Transfer
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Xian Most Popular Private Day Tour including All Entrance Fee
Ranked #11 of 335 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The joint mausoleum of Emperor Jingdi and Empress Wang, his consort.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Good Complement to the Better Known Terracotta Warriors”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My second visit in order to show my wife.
A well thought out underground layout with the glass floors above the pits allowing a good view of the figures in their hundreds including people and animals.
Lighting could be a bit brighter but I assume that they are trying to protect the exhibits.
The "anatomically correct" figurines were interesting and it would have been amazing to see them all dressed correctly thousands of years ago.
This is on the other side of Xian to the terracotta warriors so we did a two day tour, one with the warriors and the sites on that side of town and one here and the sites on this side of town. Otherwise the driving would be excessive.
Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    190
    50
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a great place to visit. There is a ramp that leads to the underground tomb. Inside you see many items the emperor was planning to use in his afterlife. Excellent views of the artifacts through glass floors. Upon entrance to the museum you are required to cover your shoes with plastic covers. We found the museum guide to be our best investment that day as we gained a great understanding of this site. This museum did not have many visitors in February.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yantai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must-see Museum”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We planned our trip to Xi'an because I've been wanting to see the Terracotta Warriors for many years. While I did enjoy our visit there, I felt that the Tomb of Emperor Jingdi was the true highlight of our trip. This is one of the best museums that I have ever visited. Glass floors enable you to walk right over the archaeological pits. Near the end of the museum, you are able to walk right beside two pits at ground level.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“the lesser known terracotta figures”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Outside of Xian towards the airport, this tomb contains a replica (in miniature) of all the items a king would need if he was to continue his reign in the next life. While the tomb itself has not been opened for fear of not having the technology to preserve what's inside, the burial rooms around the tomb have been opened. The museum is actually underground in an impressively laid out presentation. The museum has placed glass walk ways over the excavations so you can see the artifacts closely without damaging them. Towards the end there is also a movie that tells about the life of the emperor and his queen but while they have English (and other languages) headphones for foreigners, the mandarin volume in the room is so loud that its hard to hear the sound from your headphones.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Another of the wonderful tombs of Chinese Emperors which are scattered all over this Part China.One could spend weeks exploring them all

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank navyfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling) also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing