We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is not clean, poor service and strange layout. No wi-fi access!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurum International
Ranked #42 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Only 2 or 3 stars standard. My room is kind of dirty,where you see stained carpet and shower curtain and sofa. What is more annoying is the layout of the room, which is not square or rectangle, and making you uncomfortable. The TV is not flat screen.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Aurum International Hotel, Xian, China

A former classmate has been working on a World Bank project nearby and recommended this hotel.

The location is nice. It is adjacent to the Shaanxi Provncial Government Center. It is about 4 blocks from the Bell Tower, the very center of Xian. A couple of blocks away is a pedestrian walk that has many restaurants, including Burger King, McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and a Walmart.

I was upgraded to a mini-suite, a living room with a desk and a bedroom. Each room has an old-fashioned Chinese TV. There were no international channels. Internet was included. Everything worked. Housekeeping was nice and cleaned my room twice a day. Lighting for reading in bed was terrible. The entire hotel looks kind of old.

Food was terrible. I tried the RMB 50 breakfast buffet. The coffee was so bad that I switched to tea, to the consternation of the waitress. I also tried their RMB 58 lunch buffet and found the same things served. I resorted to buying things at a nearby bakery for breakfast.

There is a full menu of massages available. There is no hanky-panky.

My major disappointment was the gym was closed "from now on."

Some hints

* In the first named alley south of the Aurum, Nan Chang Xiang, there is a good fruit stand.

* It is better to buy beer from convenience stores than the myraids of "Tobacco/Alcohol" places.

* The Walmart has a good selection of Chinese wines. More importantly, they were resting on their sides.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Not really 4 star hotel but average for western expectations. No wifi but convenient location. Staff can speak english and is helpfull. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sponch136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

No problem with this stay at all. If the main cretium for any internet booking is "does it do what is says on the box"? Then this one is the one that delivers on all counts. Good english spoken by those who count and we enjyed the one night we spent there. A bit old fashioned in the decor dept. but that had its own charm.......

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel was very good and elegant.
Rooms are very clean.
Most of the staff speaks english.
The breakfast and dinner buffet were very reach.
Location is good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a standard room, which clearly states the option of twin beds or a king bed, flat panel tv and high speed internet. What we got was a double bed (as hard as you could possibly imagine), very dirty carpets, very dates rooms and wired internet which would compare possibly to dial up speeds on a good day. Flat panel in this hotel means, that the screen is flat, ie the old CRT tvs, not a plasma or lcd. Oh and the safe was locked too.

I don't often complain, but this one rates pretty low. We immediately went downstairs to explain our disappointment with the false advertising and we were offered a larger room, same bed side, same dirty carpet, in a non-smoking room which reaks of a chain smoker. upgraded room heaps of street noise.

Not happy....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LundyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here on our first trip to Xi'An. The room was booked by our travel agent and it suited us fine. The rooms are not just somewhat small but quite tiny! If you intend to spend a lot of time in the room, perhaps ask for a larger room or stay elsewhere!
The facilities of the room were first clas, internet, important to me, was excellent. Beds comfortable, linen clean and fresh bathroom, tight, but sufficient room to do what was required, light and clean!
Breakfast buffet was magnificent! A real bonanza of various foods, much more than once could possibly taste in a few days! As travellers to china will know, breakfast can be an experience at a good hotel and this is one of the best! We only ate lunch and dinner here once each, as we wanted to experieince various eateries of which there are always plenty in China!
Staff, were busy, but always gracious and ready to help, only a few had trouble with English, but it caused no problems or delays.

Room Tip: If you need more than alittle room other your bed, ask for a bigger room before you finalise your bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Barony Xi'an
Grand Barony Xi'an
#26 of 2,652 in Xi'an
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,652 in Xi'an
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,652 in Xi'an
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
#19 of 2,652 in Xi'an
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum International

Address: No.30 Nanxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $47 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aurum International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum International Hotel Xi`An
Aurum International Xi An
Aurum International China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing