We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orient Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Orient Hotel Xi'an
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 2,187 Hotels in Xi'an
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was well maintained. Buffet breakfast on the top floor was good with plenty of choice. The view from the top floor of the sun rising above the city skyline was amazing. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1959BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

An older style hotel with a great looking facade and lobby area but the rooms were not 3 star. Some paint peeling and very strong smell of smoke, even though we requested a non-smoking room . In fact the smell was so strong it almost brought tears to my eyes. To be fair though, as soon as we complained the room was deodorised but this did not completely remove the smell.

The food in the revolving restaurant (not revolving when we visited) was good and no complaints there. The location seemed to be in a busy retail designer area and it was difficult to find other places to eat near the hotel. We tried the coffee shop across the road which was fine but expensive. We eventually found a restaurant for dinner, which was a good 20 minutes walk to a designer looking shopping centre - food here was great and well priced.

China Odyssey Tours I think you can do better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room and check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel was old but satisfactory, quiet and comfortable, a bit tired but I have stayed in worse, price was good 300rmb, this included dinner discount vouchers and breakfast, but don’t expect a western style breakfast, you are in China after all, the revolving restaurant was novel and the buffet meal adequate, beer and wine was free with the meal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nero007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My mother and I travelled on a Wendy Wu Tour in April and The Orient Hotel was one of the hotels we stayed in. We didn't have high expectations of the hotels in China, but we were hoping they would be clean. The bathroom had cracked tiles with mould on them and the towel rail was barely hanging on the wall. The walls had wallpaper lifting from them and the carpets were filthy dirty. We met fellow travellers one night at the hotel bar for a drink and it was very clear the bar staff had no formal bar training, especially as one of the staff asked a male traveller to open a bottle of wine. We also had a laugh when they didn't know the difference between red wine and white wine!
The porters managed to break a wheel off my suitcase when they collected it from outside our room and when I questioned them about this no one seemed to speak English (conveniently!). Needless to say, we won't be staying in this tired and worn out hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TravelOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

You might end up at this hotel if you book the 3 star Wendy Wu tour. It is quite a nice hotel with clean rooms but let down by a tatty bathrooms - i think the mould on the silicone is the result of incompetent and excessive application of the sealant around the bathroom. The main thing is the bathroom as well as the room is clean. You get great views from the restaurant which may have revolved in the past but had ceased to do the business when we stayed. The carre four supermarket is useful for stocking up on snacks.

All in all an above average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
428 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Stayed here as part of a Wendy Wu tour. Would totally agree with AztecAdelaide's review. It is not a bad hotel, but it is some distance from the walled city. Our room was quiet and clean, but the bathroom did suffer with mould in the grout around the tiles. Internet is 5 yuan for 10 mins.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

The Orient Hotel in Xian is not too far from the many sights of the city and in itself is a comfortable if yet slightly dated hotel.

The rooms were comfortable although the bed was a little hard for my liking and the carpets were in dire need of a good steam clean it was a pleasant stay. The bathrooms were typical of hotels in China small but clean with a shower in the bath.

It certainly wasn't the worst hotel that I have stayed in and considering the country we were in it was better than expected.

We found the breakfast to be adequate with sufficient western food to appease most appetites and the staff were reasonably friendly and courteous.

If the owners cleaned it up a bit it would have rated higher.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,187 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yulong International Hotel
Yulong International Hotel
#61 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#17 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#8 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#23 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.393 Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#104 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Hotel Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Orient Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Orient Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#