We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour on the Old City Wall of Xian
Ranked #3 of 336 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Xi'an City Wall is massive, encircling the old town with 13 km of beautifully restored wall. Numerous notice boards described various parts and functions of the wall, along its length.
There were no bikes to hire on the day we were there however the wall is broad enough to enjoy a leisurely walk around it. An added bonus was the museum located inside the restored wall itself. The museum had the original remains of the wall preserved along with numerous artifacts found within the area. We visited in winter so visitor numbers were low. I had a very enjoyable couple of hours roaming the wall and enjoying the view of Xi'an.

Visited January 2014
2 Thank MWB0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
398 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Tang Dinasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

These are the largest and best-preserved ancient fortress in the world. There is a gate in each of the four sides, the gate towers over each gate look lofty and magnificent and form a tight defense engineering system. The best and coolest way to explore it is by rending a bike! You can pay for an hour and get to cycle calmly to two of the four main gates at the top. Below you can see the ancient city on one side and the modern part on the other. Enjoy the view and have fun!

Visited January 2014
Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great view from top of the city wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Well the 5th b to venture to top and see how the city was originally protected. Toilet amenities are available on the top of the wall. Push bikes if you are so inclined are availwble for hire to ride around the top of the wall. Some great views of the both sides of the wall to be had.

Visited March 2014
Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ya just gotta do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well worth the time. We were not able to rent bikes; but walked a fair distance. The lights at night are spectacular. Spend the money and enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was an unexpected pleasure. We rented a bicycle and toured the entire wall. It was interesting to be able to view the many different buildings, neighborhoods, and contrast those within the wall (the old city) with those outside (the new city). We liked being able to proceed at our own pace, stopping when (and for how long) we wanted. There are some concession stores along the way, so getting something to drink or a snack was quite easy.

Visited May 2013
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed


Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing