We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Great fun, but hope you're padded!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour on the Old City Wall of Xian
Ranked #3 of 336 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun, but hope you're padded!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a terrific time biking the wall and highly recommend it! The entire wall is easily doable in less than 90 mins, counting all our photo stops and bathroom visits. There are wonderful views of old architecture mixed w/ new and even temples you get a bird's eye view of. While the smog was troubling, even that is photogenic. The pavement varies in how well it's been maintained, which makes parts of the ride rather jarring, and we were glad we were padded! The bikes are comparable to boardwalk bikes; be sure you take extra cash for a deposit.

The young staff at the entrance very firmly--and with pleasure--informed us that their Student rates were Only for Chinese students, not for US, although our daughter's ID had been accepted everywhere else we'd visited in China, from the Great Wall, to the Terracotta Warriors, to museums in Shanghai. Hmmm.

Visited February 2014
Thank 1NYCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Who dares to ride a bike for 13 km circling the City Wall?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Xi'an City Wall is the one that separates the inner and outer city, its circumference is 13 kilometres with the Drum Tower being the centre of it. When we went to the City Wall, it was still undergoing some maintenance so some places were not opened, but nevertheless we enjoyed the experience. We bought the ticket for 27 RMB each, the price for being a student in China, and when we were inside there was this performance of traditional Chinese guards. After the performance we were free to take some shots and the guards would just stay still. Afterwards we rented a bike, 40 RMB for the standard bike and 80 RMB for the tandem one plus refundable 100 RMB deposit per unit. Although we only went half the route since we went there late and it's getting dark, It was a great experience riding a bike on the City Wall.

Visited January 2014
1 Thank Abraham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Unusual Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

A well preserved and maintained city wall. On top of the wall, we rented bicycles at the East Gate. Rental was RMB300 for deposit, RMB40 per bike for 100 minutes.
We rode for ninety minutes, stopped for photos-taking along the way and returned the bikes at the North Gate.
It was windy but air was fresher. Views of rooftops and skyscrapers at an elevation. Some very nice watch towers for pictures too.

Visited February 2014
Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Take the time to stroll on part of this wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

There was nice English text describing the sights and points of interest on this section. We only toured perhaps 5 blocks to get a sense of the magnitude of this structure. The view would have been better had there been less smog.

Visited October 2013
Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
259 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Worth doing the bicycle ride all the way around - 8 miles - plan for 90 minutes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great view - but be cautious of air quality - so if you are going to bike consider doing it slowly or with a mask.
It was a nice trip around - with a handful of stops to take advantage of for photo ops. Bathrooms available and I think it was 40 yuan per person.

Visited February 2014
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed


Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing