We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Biking The City Wall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
$73.00*
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour on the Old City Wall of Xian
Ranked #3 of 334 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Biking The City Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were part of a tourthat took us to the wall, but ditched the tour to ride a bicycle on the wall.
We rented a tandem bike (wife cannot ride a bike) at the East gate and rode down past the South gate and turned in the bike at the West gate. We paid Y80 for the tandem bike & a Y300 deposit for 100 minutes. We turned in the bike @ the West gate, showed our receipt and got our deposit back.
Afterwards we walked along West St for 15 minutes to the Bell Tower, next the Drum Tower & then to the adjoining Muslim Quarter.
Finally, we walked 20 minutes from the Muslim Quarter to the Sofitel compound where our hotel (Grand Mercure) was located.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctm7944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,374
    1,669
    379
    36
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A well-preserved/re-constructed monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The sheer length of the wall is impressive, and you can get the feel of what life in China must have been like in the early imperial years of over two-thousand years ago.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful old wall - an insight into Old China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Other than the Great Wall, this we were told is one of the only ancient walls left in China.
We enjoyed a lovely walk and a bike ride and views from the top especially at night when the wall and the pagodas built on top of the wall are all lit up.

Behind the main entrance to the wall is a market place recreated in the Ming Era style which is very interesting to explore. With the wall, the cobbled street, chinese style curved rooves and red lanterns you could be transported thousands of years back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yomitan-son, Japan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The city walls were impressive - granted not on the same scale as the Great Wall, but still fascinating. It was interesting to see the old vs. modern homes next to each other from the wall's vantage point.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Easy 13 Kilometre Bike Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was an unexpected addition to our trip. The day was overcast and cold, but it was perfect weather for bike riding. All flat, cobblestone foundation path, with the opportunity to look down into the real world of a chinese city. The bikes were easy to handle and you just follow the wall. Lots of photo opportunities.....you are given one hour and forty minutes to ride the circuit. Very do-able

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForbesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing