We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ancient City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
$73.00*
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour on the Old City Wall of Xian
Ranked #3 of 337 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ancient City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Xi'an city Wall is wider than which appeared in the photos, Just hold small half of the wall when we six walked together. It is said that the width of the top is 15 meters and the height is 12 meters. How strong it was at the cold weapon age. xi'an is a city with history, Walking on the wall to find the experience of the golden age of Xi'an in Ancient times.
City center is the area in city wall, it make we feel that the city is small and crowd, especially the train station.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wenqing x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,514
    1,772
    395
    37
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go and Bike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fun day, biking on the wall! Rent a bike or a tandem and go around on top of the fortress. You get to see the old city from atop: old streets, renovated temple, etc. I would do it again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CinqueCentoCose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sai Kung N.T., HONG KONG
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting to look at.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I understand you can climb up to the top and ride a rental bicycle.
My vertigo said no. But you can see a lot from the entrances, some of which have nice gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaiKungSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrouge, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

There's a possibility to discover by renting bikes as the wall is very long. A few kilometres I believe. There was a drum beating show when we were there which was worth waiting for. Do it in the mornings when the sun is not yet hot. We were there in August and the heat was a scorching 38°C-40°C during the day. Our guide got us to go at 9h30 and it was already starting to be hot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It might sound like a boring thing to see, but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. We got to see the museum of artefacts on the west tower, and it was a treasure trove inside. The sheer size and scale of the wall is immense and well kept, so definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing