We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no reason to walk up there at all”

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Xi'an Morning Tour: City Wall South Gate Opening Ceremony and Bicycle Ride
Ranked #3 of 334 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“no reason to walk up there at all”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

New walls on old space des not make this an attraction, Looks like Chinese Disney Land to me, can not figure out why anybody would like to go up there and see another million cheap red lanterns, the sign of the tourism department all over China. They never had red lamps on the ramparts, so they should not be there nw. Stay away!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,107
    2,166
    486
    42
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“14 Kilometers of Cool on a Bicycle Built for Two”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Let me admit up front - this was a very hot day in July and about halfway through the ride I wished I had rented a golf cart instead, but, I am glad I made the ride. Go early and you can ride the bike and beat the heat and the crowd of other tourists. There are shops and places to stop and buy water, coke, etc., around the wall.

This is the real deal - the ancient city wall of Xi'an and other than the potholes (which I should have been better at avoiding) in the wall pathway, it has been restored wonderfully. This is a true Chinese cultural treasure and worth a few hours of your day before or after the Terra Cotta Warriors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hot as hell but worth a visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Cheap admission - but then there isn't much on the other side of the barrier. It is impressive though - you can walk (or hire a bike and cycle) around the entire wall. There are watch towers every so often and refreshment stalls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlekSkilganon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful City Wall”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a secret of Xi'an...there should be more said of this attraction. It is wonderfully restored and beautiful when lit up at night. A must have photo op.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SocaSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great family activity and way to see Xian”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Go early to beat the heat, rent some bicycles and bike the wall. Lots of fun for a few hours. We really enjoyed it !!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing