We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family activity and way to see Xian”

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Xi'an Afternoon City Wall Tour Including Chinese Paper Cutting Class
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Private Classic Xi'an One Day Tour Including Lunch
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Private Day Tour with Airport Transfer: Xi'an Terracotta Warriors & Horses...
Ranked #3 of 336 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great family activity and way to see Xian”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Go early to beat the heat, rent some bicycles and bike the wall. Lots of fun for a few hours. We really enjoyed it !!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,196
    2,228
    503
    43
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Watch out for your wallets, very busy and crowded area where you can get pick pocketed or fleeced by one vendor or another. The marketplace is interesting, but our tour company ushered us quickly off to "their" arranged restaurants every meal so we never had time to sample other offerings.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ISwimalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Xian City Wall”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What an incredible feat of architecture, it is huge. I think my guide said that it is 14klm by slightly less on the sides. The top is very wide, probably.as wide as a street. The whole thing has been really well maintained and the city walls were breached to allow traffic. You can see the mat and where the drawbridge was placed. The interior is able to sustain a small town
Many people were taking the opportunity to cycle round the whole structure, I believe you can leave the bike at certain points on the wall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chanel16calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good place to spend some time”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We rented a bike and spend some time cycling all around te wall. I was quite impressed how long the wall was...really took us some time to finish one round. Because of that most time u don't feel crowded, what really seems to be a unique feeling in china.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle at sunset”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the top to do in Xi'an city! The city walls are bigger and more well maintained than you'd expect.

It was fantastic cycling at sunset, with beautiful colours in the sky and the temperature being a lot cooler than if we had done it earlier during the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing