We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Xian City Wall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)
Book In Advance
$73.00*
and up
2-Hour Biking Tour on the Old City Wall of Xian
Ranked #3 of 337 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
calgary
Level Contributor
201 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Xian City Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What an incredible feat of architecture, it is huge. I think my guide said that it is 14klm by slightly less on the sides. The top is very wide, probably.as wide as a street. The whole thing has been really well maintained and the city walls were breached to allow traffic. You can see the mat and where the drawbridge was placed. The interior is able to sustain a small town
Many people were taking the opportunity to cycle round the whole structure, I believe you can leave the bike at certain points on the wall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chanel16calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,507
    1,763
    394
    37
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good place to spend some time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We rented a bike and spend some time cycling all around te wall. I was quite impressed how long the wall was...really took us some time to finish one round. Because of that most time u don't feel crowded, what really seems to be a unique feeling in china.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the top to do in Xi'an city! The city walls are bigger and more well maintained than you'd expect.

It was fantastic cycling at sunset, with beautiful colours in the sky and the temperature being a lot cooler than if we had done it earlier during the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a quick trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to check out the wall purely because it is the oldest of its kind, which drew me in. We didn't go to top however as it was very expensive, and due to the high pollution levels in the city, the view would definitely not be worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaraWesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You can drop your cycle at any cycle point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cycling the Wall is a fun thing to do however the rules are you have to do it in 100 minutes or you forfeit your deposit which means that you have to cycle pretty quickly and don't have a relaxing trip. We dropped our cycles at the cycle point before the one where we picked it up and wasn't a problem to get our deposit back. We were also told that we couldn't hire a bike because we were too old 60yrs+, however on explaining we cycle all the time in NZ they did allow us to hire a bike after all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang) also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an City Wall (Chengqiang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing