We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuyuan Youth Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Ranked #8 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Beijing. This really is one awesome hostel. Clean rooms with great showers, a bar with a band on the same premises, great food! Can be a bit noisy, but it is also a great place to meet folks and share travel plans. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScHp0nGl3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a great hostel with a very cool, laid back vibe and great location - close to everything. The check in was a little bit annoying as the receptionist didn't have our booking and was very confused and nearly didn't let us in (even though we had the printed confirmation). Our room was a little noisy as there are spaces for people to sit and chat in courtyards - but you expect noise at a hostel. We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank food_lovers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hostel is in a great location and has a really fab vibe. The staff at reception were the friendliest we have experienced in the whole of our stay in China. We stayed in a double private room and it was a good size. Not the most modern but everything you needed. Bathrooms looked like they had been updated and there was a good shower. The hostel itself has a lovely atmosphere. There are little courtyards with seating areas where you can chill out and chat.
The restaurant is small enough but the food was excellent and reasonably priced. One of the nights we went to the bar which is underneath the hostel. It had a great party atmosphere. Some people have mentioned that they could hear the noise from their rooms but we couldn't. I don't know if thats because of the position our room was in of not. The location of the hostel is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the city walls where you can hire bikes to cycle around.
We only stayed here one night as they were booked out so we moved on to their sister hotel which is the Han Yang House. By far we preferred the Shuyuan Hostel and wished we could of stayed there for the whole of our time in Xi'an

Room Tip: To be sure you are not disturbed by the music from the bar ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in 2012. The rooms we had were on the ground floor. They were basic but clean. The hostel had a great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our two teenagers particularly enjoyed the cafe with excellent pizzas and milk shakes. The location is excellent for getting around and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You might not want a room that opens onto the courtyard as it can be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodger_dodger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostel is located right next to the south gate of the city walls. It was easy to find. The room was clean with limited of walking space. Also bathroom comes with hot water. Wifi worked very well inside and outside the room. But with the room costed RMB200 without a TV and a wardrobe, it was totally pricey.

Good things within 10 minutes walk to bell, drum towers and muslim street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hostel had the best atmosphere of all the hotels we've been to up till now. Lots of outdoor seating and a great Western restaurant, so you easily get in contact with other travelers.
Then, the negative points, which for me personally weigh more heavily than the positive ones. It took the cook 40 minutes to prepare 2 meals of french toast... this is very annoying if you are about to go on a tour and already ordered your breakfast... The service is terrible. We ordered soup and the menu said it included 2 pieces of garlic bread. When we didn't receive the garlic bread and talked about it to the waitress she said: there is no garlic bread included (it was black on white on the menu!) and we didn't get it. Next negative point: this hostel has no comfort at all. The beds are really hard (harder than in the other hostels), rooms are very old and there is indeed a lot of noise from the bar until early morning. With noise from the bar I don't mean a little background noise, nono, it was like they were singing right next to our room wall. Don't expect to sleap if you don't have earplugs. The hostel offers them for free, which says it all... When I complained about the noise, the staff told me this (literally):'Then you should have chosen a different hotel to stay in'.

So you should consider what you think is most important: your sleep and comfort or the ease of talking to other people and have Western food very nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just stayed here for one night in transit. Arrived very late at night due to taxi dramas but was welcomed by english speaking staff who registered me very quickly and showed me straight to my room. room wasn't spick and span but clean enough. beds were Chinese standard, on the smaller size and firm but had a great night sleep. not much noise, wifi great and the staff in the morning were fantastic. downside: after 25hrs of travel i was hanging out for hot shower and freshen up, hot water only runs 7am - 12pm and the room could have been a bit cleaner. I will stay again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,649 in Xi'an
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#33 of 2,649 in Xi'an
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
1.2 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range: $11 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing