We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Adequate hostel with nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Ranked #6 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adequate hostel with nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the hostel for one night, in a private double room with ensuite bathroom. The room was ok, although the matresses were quite hard, and there was a slightly bad smell coming from the bathroom. Nevertheless, the value for money is very good, and the rooms are what you could expect from a hostel. The personnel, all speaking English well, is very friendly, and it was a real pleasure to have a drink in the attached traveller's bar. And you get a voucher for a free welcome drink :-). We also took our breakfast there and ate a pizza, both of which were very good.
The hostel is very easy to reach by bus: just follow the directions given on their website.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    108
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
13
60
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here January. It was fine. I don't recall anything special about the hostel, but all was well. It's in a good location, just off the city wall and near good bus routes. We were collected from the railway station (for free). We had vouchers for beer every evening as well.

Room Tip: The toilet near us was the usual hole in the floor, but there are "western style" toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid (Spain)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on September 2012. The hotel is located at the south gate of the city about 10 minutes walk away from the Bell Tower. The staff is friendly and speak English.

We booked a twin room with ensuite bathroom with western-style toilet and a shower. There was no curtain or shower glass door so the whole floor was wet after shower. There were no ammenities provided and you had to pay to borrow a towel. Our room was really ugly with a little tv, air conditioner and a window on the corridor so i had to keep the curtains close all the time and the room was really dark. It was also very noisy at night.

There was a big pub in the lower floor. There were many cocktails and shots served. In my opinion that was the only good place in this hostel. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to party and meet travellers but if you want to rest its not the best choice.

The breakfast was not included in our room rate. They served different kinds of breakfast menus for reasonable prices.

The reception area was nice, with computers for use paying a little cost, and free water available.

They have free luggage storage in a room.

A taxi to the airport could cost around 150 RMB and they offer a free pick up service on the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgnytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I will be forever grateful to the young man at the front desk who was able to secure us two soft sleeper train tickets to Chengdu after the guy at the Beijing train station said there were none available. The staff in general were very helpful, friendly, and spoke good English. The location of the hotel is also a plus - 5 minute walk to the City Wall, 10 minute walk to the Bell Tower, 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants, 15 minute walk to the Mosque and street markets. We also did the Terra Cotta Warrior tour through the hostel which we enjoyed.

I would stay there again if ever in Xi'an, but am taking one star off for spotty WiFi and hot water.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thismanisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel is amazing. The best I have visited in China - - - actually the best I have every visited!

The tours provided are great value for money, and excellent fun! I took the Terracotta Warriors tour strait after I arrived at the hostel. It was awesome!

Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - - - there is a really fun vibe. The bar down stairs is patronised by locals, expats and travellers. It is not noisy because it is underground.

I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm on the very top floor - - - - it was sort of on the roof! Really so much atmosphere in this place.

Great location on the city wall.

Yum food & coffee. Excellent bunch of travellers coming through all the time.

Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice - peaceful & quiet. Bathroom is outside though - so may be cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_K1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fun atmosphere, great location, fantastic value for money at any age. The best part was the cafe on the premises, which was extremely cozy and wonderful to meet people. (though it was a little noisy at night with the thin walls). But I actually travelled in June 2011, not October.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great hostel within the walls of Xi'an. The location is slightly off center, located just south of the old town, inside the walls. A ten minute walk to the Bell Tower. The metro station is five minutes away, and buses to three minutes. It offers free pick-up from the train station. The hostel is very nice, cozy and clean. At guests' disposal there is a common room and several tables and chairs in the courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The bar/restaurant inside is very good, both for the breakfast and meals (the menu is well stocked with european specialties). The ground floor rooms are very comfortable, but a little more "in touch" with people outside and this slightly noisy. Inside the room there is TV, air conditioning and a bathroom with a large shower. It offers a free luggage storage and there's free wi-fi, although not perfectly present in the entire hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#18 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#43 of 2,355 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#38 of 2,355 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Property: Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Address: NO. 2A Shuncheng South Alley South Section, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing