We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in China!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Ranked #8 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic 3 night stay!! Staff was very helpful, food in the bar was great, bathrooms were very clean! Good location, coffee, and breakfast, good laundry service as well. Would love to stay longer. The dog of the hostel is adorable and very friendly. Location is very central, close to many attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

returned here after 4 years as experience was a good one with really friendly atmosphere . I remember being aware of noise from the bar downstairs but quietened down about 1am - not so this time!! Everyone seemed to spill out from the bar and congregate in the corridors and courtyard and smoke and chat loudly till 4-5 am!!! The cleaners then started at 6am and were clanking buckets and talking really loud throughout the whole place. I asked to get other room and the staff could not have been nicer and more helpful in doing this but unfortunately it seems as though there is no avoiding the high noise level - infact an argument broke out one morning 4am and girls were screaming at each other and a bloke set of the fire extinguisher. No staff seemed to come to try and sort things out!!After 3 nights i was so glad to leave. This is so sad as I feel for other reasons this would be a fantastic place to stay- good food and very friendly atmosphere during the day!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llmd06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice location next to the major attractions in town. Staff is helpful and will reserve you the best rate for the terracotta army without any shopping stops. The rooms are clean and the restaurant provides good meals to fair prices. Best is the bar down stairs with live music entertainment and cheap beer until late. Best hostel in China so far!!! Book it :)

Room Tip: Single room are not to expensive but bathrooms are smelling weird. That's the only negative thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

my favourite hostel stay in China. Stayed in a double room for 1 night and dorm rooms for 2 nights and both were very comfy and clean. The hostel itself is beautiful, based around two courtyards with a lovely lobby area, great little cafe/restaurant in the back with excellent full english breakfast and resident kitten and dog. Also has a very cool bar downstairs that is possibly the best in Xi'an. It's a big place and is always full and has a great atmosphere. Received free beers and coffee vouchers when arrived, and the staff were all extremely friendly and heplful. Very handy location in front of the South Gate just within the city walls. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank jamie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and 3 days. Everything was just perfect. I stayed in one of their dormitories for only 40 RMB/per night and it came with a free coffee upon arrival and free Calsberg Beer every night. The rooms are warm and very cozy., Sheets are clean and I had a god sleep. Although the toilet is coed, it is well maintained and the shower is great. I had to rent a towel and pair of sleepers but they were very cheap. The restaurant is also great. They have this awesome bar where it gets very crowded but it was so much fun. The location of the hotel is very easy to find. I contacted them before hand and someone from their staff picked me up at the train station for free!!! I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlet7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very pretty, boutique-style hostel from outside and in the main areas, beautiful gardens and restaurant area. We stayed in a dorm which was pretty basic but very clean and tidy. we had shared bathrooms but these also were very clean. There are private rooms available. Staff were very helpful and arranged our trip to the panda sanctuary for a very good price. Food was also delicious, and a change from rice and noodles. Would defo stay here again and recommend it for anyone visiting xi'an. Also short walk to shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmtalcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hostel is a welcome retreat from the Chinese winter. The reception lobby has stylish comfy chairs and very helpful and fun staff. A few courtyards will take you to the cosy restaurant at the back, where I found the food was top quality and beer only 8RMB!! They have a pizza oven and you can cook your own cookies for free! The bar downstairs is western in style and has the best pool table in china so far. Most nights it is buzzing with a good mix of locals, expats and travelers, the free beer is appreciated and some nights there is good live music. My room was a private on-suite and it was perfectly clean and modern, infact the whole hostel was kept in great condition. There is even a room in the basement solely for table tennis, which became quite a competitive game between us!! I can't fault the place! Its even at the heart of things right beside the south gate.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the private room, but it was in great condition, with a tv and wifi. The double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyWauly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,652 in Xi'an
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.8 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,652 in Xi'an
931 reviews
1.6 mi away
7 Sages International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing