We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Ranked #7 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

my favourite hostel stay in China. Stayed in a double room for 1 night and dorm rooms for 2 nights and both were very comfy and clean. The hostel itself is beautiful, based around two courtyards with a lovely lobby area, great little cafe/restaurant in the back with excellent full english breakfast and resident kitten and dog. Also has a very cool bar downstairs that is possibly the best in Xi'an. It's a big place and is always full and has a great atmosphere. Received free beers and coffee vouchers when arrived, and the staff were all extremely friendly and heplful. Very handy location in front of the South Gate just within the city walls. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    112
    42
    13
    13
See reviews for
13
63
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and 3 days. Everything was just perfect. I stayed in one of their dormitories for only 40 RMB/per night and it came with a free coffee upon arrival and free Calsberg Beer every night. The rooms are warm and very cozy., Sheets are clean and I had a god sleep. Although the toilet is coed, it is well maintained and the shower is great. I had to rent a towel and pair of sleepers but they were very cheap. The restaurant is also great. They have this awesome bar where it gets very crowded but it was so much fun. The location of the hotel is very easy to find. I contacted them before hand and someone from their staff picked me up at the train station for free!!! I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very pretty, boutique-style hostel from outside and in the main areas, beautiful gardens and restaurant area. We stayed in a dorm which was pretty basic but very clean and tidy. we had shared bathrooms but these also were very clean. There are private rooms available. Staff were very helpful and arranged our trip to the panda sanctuary for a very good price. Food was also delicious, and a change from rice and noodles. Would defo stay here again and recommend it for anyone visiting xi'an. Also short walk to shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmtalcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xian
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hostel is a welcome retreat from the Chinese winter. The reception lobby has stylish comfy chairs and very helpful and fun staff. A few courtyards will take you to the cosy restaurant at the back, where I found the food was top quality and beer only 8RMB!! They have a pizza oven and you can cook your own cookies for free! The bar downstairs is western in style and has the best pool table in china so far. Most nights it is buzzing with a good mix of locals, expats and travelers, the free beer is appreciated and some nights there is good live music. My room was a private on-suite and it was perfectly clean and modern, infact the whole hostel was kept in great condition. There is even a room in the basement solely for table tennis, which became quite a competitive game between us!! I can't fault the place! Its even at the heart of things right beside the south gate.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the private room, but it was in great condition, with a tv and wifi. The double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyWauly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here in October 2010 and really enjoyed our stay. The dorm room was adequete and the location was very good. The cafe is brilliant and the bar has a great atmosphere. It is a real social place so you will not have problems meeting people. The staff were excellent too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friend and I recently had a very happy time at this hostel. As we only had 2 days, we loved the central location, the friendly atmosphere, the unique decor, the scrumptious breakfast, the ever delicious hot coffee and the helpful staff. Our big hit was going for an early morning bike ride around the city wall. We loved them picking us up free from the train station, the free coffee and especially the free beer. The closeby antique market was also a plus for us. All in all, a fantastic experience. I would definately recommend this hostel to friends and will go there again myself if I have a chance. Julia from Australia

Room Tip: Our twin room with private facilities suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Arrived after leaving Xiangzimen Hostel which was horribly unfriendly. We were greeted by two lovely ladies who were happy and welcoming (one was called Daisy). We were given a discount on the room because the previous occupiers had complained about a funny smell even though they assured us it was fixed (it was). Free tea/coffee the day you arrived in their lovely Travellers Cafe and a free beer coupon for every night you were there.
Food was amazing here, really tasty. Staff were beyond friendly and helpful (look for Linda in the restaurant, she's awesome!!). Atmosphere in the cafe was great, lots of travellers mingling and getting to know each other.
We arranged a tour to Famen Si from here, even though it was a Chinese speaking tour we went along anyway and had a great time. Saw plenty and had plenty of time to look around the sites.
Room was small and in the basement, but impeccably clean and comfortable. Even though it was under the restaurant and down the hall from the bar it was very quiet. We had to share the toilets upstairs, which was a bit annoying to not have any in the basement. Also, the hot water is only on in the morning and it wasn't all that hot, but not unbearable given that the weather was still quite mild. Might cause a problem in the winter though.
All in all a wonderful hostel run by wonderful people in a great location! Cannot recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishlaura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,578 in Xi'an
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,578 in Xi'an
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
0.6 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Property: Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Shuyuan Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing