We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location but dated room and unfriendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.32 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #941 of 2,327 Hotels in Xi'an
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location but dated room and unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Single room with private bathroom, tv and fridge. Hot shower with good preassure was be best thing, along with the A/C in the room which worked perfectly during summer season. The room looked old and everything seemed quite dated. It looked clean but so old, including torn wallpapers, that at the end you never know if it is really clean or not. Made me pay a deposit of 300 CNY as there are some food and prodcuts offered in the room to buy. As I didn´t use or bought anything they paid me back the whole deposit without any problems when checking out. There is no wifi in the hotel and no breakfast is included. Location is great just two steps away from bell tower and with a direct bus from the airport arriving and departing from the entrance. Be careful with the hotel staff and the business centre. I had previously arranged a tour with another agency and I asked the hotel staff to help me to call this agency for tour confirmation. The hotel staff told me that the agency had cancelled my tour and... magic! they offered me the same tour at same price but with the difference that I had to pay a deposit. I decided to trust the hotel but the next day I found a guide from my original booked tour waiting for me at the lobby. Of course, I had already paid the deposit to the hotel so I had to cancel my original tour, finding myself in an unpleasant situation. Misunderstanding? Well, it could be but I am already and experienced traveller to know that there was something dishonest in the behaviour of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    93
    60
    25
    20
See reviews for
12
15
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the only good thing is the location, just across the street from the drum tower and muslim quarter by underpass.

1. the entire hotel is dated and almost falling apart in places.
2. the entire hotel stinks of third-hand cigarette smoke. cancerous!
3. the corridors and elevators smell so bad i've to hold my breath each time i go from lobby to room.
4. rooms and bathrooms filthy, but beds were very clean.
5. beds can be rather stiff and hard for westerners.
6. from evening till midnight i had calls offering "massage services" in mandarin... and when i disconnected the phone, they came knocking on my door!
7. i had a single room and it was really very small. just my both arms length outstretched + an extra hand's width.
8. traffic, and cars sounding their horns indiscriminately at all times of the night, and people shouting on the streets kept me awake.
9. wifi's only available at the lobby, which only had space for 3 people to sit comfortably and is always occupied by Chinese guests(?) sleeping.
10. air-conditioning is weak. they claimed it was centralized and you can only change the level of air conditioning (1-low, 2-medium, 3-high). as my room was facing the setting sun, my room was like a sauna well till past sundown... and they refused to move me to another room.
11. intimate kits were placed next to the sink. if it's already not obvious enough what this hotel is more suitable for.
12. very dark corridors.
13. tried to use the public restroom but as the gents was being cleaned, was re-directed to a rubbish dump?!
14. reception barely spoke english. thankfully i spoke mandarin, but the poor hapless non-mandarin speakers will have problems if they encounter any issues with the room or any other special reqeusts.

NOT recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Value for price : the price of that hotel is very cheap, and the location is absolutely perfect because the entrance of the hotel is the airport shuttle bus station. The bus literally stops at less than 2 meters from the door.

Hotel and room : To be honest, for the European level, this hotel can seem very old or more exactly badly maintained. But it's not a big problem, the bed and bathroom were perfectly clean, the problems were for example the door that would need new painting, or that had to be closed with energy, the wall needed to be refreshed, the corridor was not in very good shape, things like that, but the most important was good. The bathroom was also perfectly clean.

What was more strange in this hotel is the ambiance, I think it must be an hotel that was for upper-class of communist party some decades ago, and it was not renewed since, but the same customers still come. As a European these customers looked at me strangely sometimes, but a simple "Nihao" (hello) was OK to make them smile. There was also at least 10 policemen in the lobby, maybe some police office in the same building ?

About the staff : in the whole city of Xi'an I felt that the employees seems like bureaucratic semi-helpful government workers, but again, to be honest, they made their best to answer my questions, and proved to be very helpful and finally very efficient. Even at 5 o'clock in the morning there were 3 girls (sleeping while sitting and waking up to serve customers) at the reception for a quick check-out.

Another great point, I arrived in the morning and they immediately gave me a room even if I was too early for check-in.

But I can confirm that the city outside is noisy depending on your room, this hotel is good for one or too days of visit. Maybe less recommended for romantic or business trip.

Please also note that there is no WiFi in the rooms, but some rooms have Internet. Wifi is available in the lobby (but only 3 seats).

Well, if you are not after luxury this hotel is sufficient, very well located and a true experience. I would return there if I go back to Xi'an, at least the first or the last day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magix_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days and I guess I just classify it as average. Room was very small and not layed out well. Rooms are very dated and dark. Location was good ..... close to Bell and Drum Tower.... 2 blocks. Very noise at night with the street traffic outside.... lots of car/bus horns. Front desk was OK but generally required help from the the asst manager who spoke English. Free wifi not available in room but available from a couple of sofas in the lobby. It was actually from the restaurant attached to hotel.

Price was Ok at about 30usd but did not do a lot of comparison shopping. Arrived via train station but left via airport bus which leaves from directly outside the front door every 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen better upfront staff and management in China than melody hotel. Wang Juan and everybody were very kind and helpful. During the Holiday season they were very very polite and kind. Anything I tell or ask them, they immediately did it for me. Good location and kind people. Please disregard other negative remarks and stay here. XIE XIE NI. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its central location. The staff are unhelpful, the bedrooms well below average, and the bathrooms in dire need of an overhaul!! We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of China, and tried to spend as little as possible time in the hotel. Breakfast was unacceptable, nevermind inedible! My brother & his girlfriend had booked a cheaper hotel (backpackers!!) 10 minutes walk down the road, and it was far superior to the Melody. The bathroom was literally falling apart, and they had stuck some pieces of it back together with sticky tape! Plugs were hanging off the wall in the bedroom, with wires hanging out. Perhaps the Melody should be inspected again and be regraded - by NO stretch of the imagination does it qualify as a three star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hols_are_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! We were booked into this hotel by our tour organisers and, of all the hotels in which we stayed in China, this was by far the worst. If they had minus star ratings, this one would earn minus five!! The rooms were dirty, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off the walls, electric wall plugs were falling out of the walls and constituted an extreme hazard, curtains were filthy. Furthermore, our buffet western breakfast consisted of coffee with evaporated milk, a slice of spam, a fried egg and two slices of dry bread with a scraping of peanut butter - so you had two choices, take it or leave it. Luckily there is a Starbucks quite close by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayenne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
Bell Tower Hotel
#38 of 2,327 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Lianhu District
Li Jing Hotel
Li Jing Hotel
#636 of 2,327 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rongmin International Hotel
#227 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Property: Melody Hotel
Address: No.32 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #941 of 2,327 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing