We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with a great view of Xi'an”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wan Nian Grand Hotel
Ranked #1,096 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night in March 2008 as part of a group-tour of China.

The hotel was extremely clean. The location was rather central as far as I remember. The room was the best thing about this hotel - it was very large and clean with enough furniture to feel home-like but not so much as to feel clutterred. The bathroom was also large and more importantly clean. The two smal complimentary water bottles provided in the room upon check-in were a nice touch. Some complimentary toiletries as well in the bathroom. Not sure if these are replenished on a daily basis though, because I only stayed one night.

The breakfast buffet was lovely. There was a large variety of foods to choose from. You could eat western-stlye pastries or chinese noodles and rice. There was freshly squeezed juice and a pair of chefs who can make your eggs any way you like in front of you while you wait for them to do it. There were also cereals etc - very nice!

Overall I really liked this hotel and I am surprised to find that I am the first review to be posted in English on here.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here as part of our school trip to China. The public areas of the hotel are renovated to a high standard - the rooms we were in (their 3 star rooms) were horrible! The carpets were dirty and the rooms were very smelly - old smoke. I think this part of the hotel is due for renovation so if you are staying there soon ask NOT to be in the south building

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Xi'an Wannian Grand is hardly grand. The lobby looks almost as good as it does in the photo's, and the rooms are large; but you can't get a drink, or a meal. We arrived at 1700h and settled in, heading down for a beer about 1830h; the bar is closed, in darkness. I spoke to receptionist who said she'd get the bar opened (this is a big hotel, where is everyone?) By 1900h we had our drinks, now about dinner..... no-one in the restaurant, no staff, no patrons.... no menu.... so back to the bar. It's closed again! Internet touted as free, is not, and it takes some hours to get the hotel's IT guy to reconfigure your laptop to connect to their unique inhouse network. Scary stuff, eh? But the worst thing is you can't see out the wonderful floor/ceiling panoramic windows because the air is a orangey-greenish goop. On our third morning I finally got a glimpse of the road, 9 stories below! Terracotta Warriors are worth the trip tho'

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Wan Nian Grand Hotel, Xi'an was very nice. Two bottles of water and snacks in room at check-in. Booked into hotel as a part of a China Focus tour. Many tour groups (some students) at hotel. Very nice room, standard bath, limited a/c, internet 25 yuan/day. Very nice breakfast buffet included with tour. Much local shopping around corner as well as bus station. Note to far (by taxi) from the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BowtieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 16, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 10, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.0 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,652 in Xi'an
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,652 in Xi'an
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wan Nian Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Address: No.93 Changle Middle Road, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wan Nian Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Wan Nian Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wan Nian Grand Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing