We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“3rd Hotel on the Chinese Checkers Tour” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wan Nian Grand Hotel
Ranked #1,068 of 2,331 Hotels in Xi'an
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“3rd Hotel on the Chinese Checkers Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the 3rd Hotel we stayed at while doing the Chinese Checkers Tour by On the Go Tours. We stayed here for 2 nights. Breakfast was lacking as there wasn't much to choose from. The room had mosquitoes so don't forget to pack repellant. The mini fridge was not cold and the Air-con also had problems. The location of the hotel was not that bad with decent shops and restaurants in walking distance. Rooms were not cleaned well at all. We found some food on the carpet when we arrived and it remained there the entire time. The Hotel also has free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    52
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
3
14
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Wain nan Hotel - Xi'an
1. Rooms : clean. Small double bed, STD size room, air-con partially operational. N0 minibar supplies, English TV channels advertised but ended up being blue screens.  Bit of hanging space in cupboard, no safe.
2. Beds: "firm",  clean, plenty of pillows. Sheets only changed on request.
3. Bathroom: clean, shower in bath, Towels ok changed on request. Plenty oh hot water. One roll of toilet paper.
4. Reception: pleasant and helpful. Pretty efficient.
5. Breakfast:  ok but nothing exciting.
6. Restaurant: there are some interesting restaurants just down the road from the hotel that are worth trying. Their prices are a welcome change and they provide  plenty to eat with bubbly staff.
7. Money: ATM located 50m from the hotel.
8. English: not many of the staff can understand English.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got here after the overnight train from Beijing and were impresssed that we had the breakfast buffet to ourselves when we turned up. We had to try and reorganise our rooms as they weren't near each other as we had asked. The one thing the kids were gutted about was that the pool was out of action....we only found out after a long hot day of sightseeing. One of the reasons we had stuck with this hotel choice. Rooms were big and comfortable. Foyer very plush. Staff didn't seem to speak much English and there didn't seem to be many people staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyChain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel itself, the public areas and the rooms are very nice. The staff, even though they don't speak a lot of English, are very friendly... when you can find them, that is. We stayed here as part of a tour group and the seven of us and our tour guide were the only guests. The bar was closed, when we tried to get dinner, both restaurants were closed. When we finally found a staff member, we were told that we could order dinner, but everything we tried to order was 'out of stock'. Walking down the halls was an eery, Shining-like experience... The last morning, some of our group had left early on an add-on tour, and they had set one table in the very middle of the huge dining room for three of us.
Once again, the eery factor was not the fault of any of the staff or the hotel itself, but does make me wonder if they should keep such a large hotel open and running with such a small staff during what must have been the lowest of low season...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The rooms are massive, and our view was quite nice from our window. The shower was very powerful! and generally a nice hotel. It was very clean, although our panel for the TV channels didnt work I enjoyed our stay here. They did come round rather early for room service, so remember to flick the switch on the panel to say you dont want them coming in! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in the middle on an 'On the Go' tour. The hotel was fine, large clean rooms and a decent location. The city is huge so it's taxis around but they're very cheap. There's not much in the area but if you're on a tour you don't mind so much!

Reception was very helpful, no safes in the room but they have safety boxes for free use at reception. The breakfast was average and the bar in the evening was really just an adjunct to the restaurant but you can get a beer if you ask.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

From searching on Trip Advisor, I see that there are 2 hotels in Xi'an with similar names.

This review is for the Wan Nian Hotel, aka Golden Wannian on Chang Le Zhong Road.

This was the 3rd hotel of our OnTheGo tour of China.

The hotel was very nice, and again it is primarily a business hotel (there was a refridgerator salesman conference on during our visit!).

The rooms was large and spacious, with complementary bottles of water in the room.
The hotel is close to the centre of Xi'an.

It is currently the down season (March) and we had to check if the bar was actually open (it turns out it has lights that are only on, when the sensors are activated). Once we had established the bar was open it was good value, only 10 Yuan / beer.
The bar at the top of the hotel was also closed.
As was the swimming pool!!

Breakfast was split into 2, with western and Chinese breakfasts being served in separate dining rooms. The western breakfast, was very quiet, and it is all cooked freshly for you. Being this isn't a buffet style breakfast, service is a bit slower than in other hotels, and breakfast will last at least 30 mins. Cereal and milk is on the table on arrival, and the staff then serve juice and coffee. 5- 10 mins later, the toast arrives. 5- 10 mins later still the cooked breakfast (a huge omlette, bacon and sausage) arrives. However, on the 2nd morning, no staff was evident on arrival, so we helped ourselves
to someone elses leftover toast. This resulted in us not getting any fresh toast, and no cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
3.5 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wan Nian Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Property: Wan Nian Grand Hotel
Address: NO. 93 Changle Middle Rd, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wan Nian Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Wan Nian Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wan Nian Grand Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing