We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wan Nian Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$116
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Melia Xi'an(Xi'an)
$105
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$101
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
6
52
32
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
52
32
8
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in the middle on an 'On the Go' tour. The hotel was fine, large clean rooms and a decent location. The city is huge so it's taxis around but they're very cheap. There's not much in the area but if you're on a tour you don't mind so much!

Reception was very helpful, no safes in the room but they have safety boxes for free use at reception. The breakfast was average and the bar in the evening was really just an adjunct to the restaurant but you can get a beer if you ask.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

From searching on Trip Advisor, I see that there are 2 hotels in Xi'an with similar names.

This review is for the Wan Nian Hotel, aka Golden Wannian on Chang Le Zhong Road.

This was the 3rd hotel of our OnTheGo tour of China.

The hotel was very nice, and again it is primarily a business hotel (there was a refridgerator salesman conference on during our visit!).

The rooms was large and spacious, with complementary bottles of water in the room.
The hotel is close to the centre of Xi'an.

It is currently the down season (March) and we had to check if the bar was actually open (it turns out it has lights that are only on, when the sensors are activated). Once we had established the bar was open it was good value, only 10 Yuan / beer.
The bar at the top of the hotel was also closed.
As was the swimming pool!!

Breakfast was split into 2, with western and Chinese breakfasts being served in separate dining rooms. The western breakfast, was very quiet, and it is all cooked freshly for you. Being this isn't a buffet style breakfast, service is a bit slower than in other hotels, and breakfast will last at least 30 mins. Cereal and milk is on the table on arrival, and the staff then serve juice and coffee. 5- 10 mins later, the toast arrives. 5- 10 mins later still the cooked breakfast (a huge omlette, bacon and sausage) arrives. However, on the 2nd morning, no staff was evident on arrival, so we helped ourselves
to someone elses leftover toast. This resulted in us not getting any fresh toast, and no cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband as part of our honeymoon tour around China. The room itself was lovely with a kingsize bed. We were quite high up so had views across town, and the staff were accommodating. We arrived at around 10.30am after an overnight train journey from Beijing and they had extended the buffet breakfast period just for us - we weren't even expecting to get breakfast that morning!
Location-wise, I don't know how accessible it is to the old city wall and attractions as we had our own tour guide and driver. The Terracotta Army is about an hour out of the city.
In the evening we used the indoor pool - the only thing there was that we had to buy a swimming cap (it was compulsory to wear one) which cost about £1.
For dinner we stayed in the hotel restaurant. We arrived to eat quite late by Chinese standards, around 8.30 and they seemed in a hurry to get rid of us in the end as we were the last to leave, so we finished with a couple of drinks at the bar.
On the whole it served our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night in March 2008 as part of a group-tour of China.

The hotel was extremely clean. The location was rather central as far as I remember. The room was the best thing about this hotel - it was very large and clean with enough furniture to feel home-like but not so much as to feel clutterred. The bathroom was also large and more importantly clean. The two smal complimentary water bottles provided in the room upon check-in were a nice touch. Some complimentary toiletries as well in the bathroom. Not sure if these are replenished on a daily basis though, because I only stayed one night.

The breakfast buffet was lovely. There was a large variety of foods to choose from. You could eat western-stlye pastries or chinese noodles and rice. There was freshly squeezed juice and a pair of chefs who can make your eggs any way you like in front of you while you wait for them to do it. There were also cereals etc - very nice!

Overall I really liked this hotel and I am surprised to find that I am the first review to be posted in English on here.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here as part of our school trip to China. The public areas of the hotel are renovated to a high standard - the rooms we were in (their 3 star rooms) were horrible! The carpets were dirty and the rooms were very smelly - old smoke. I think this part of the hotel is due for renovation so if you are staying there soon ask NOT to be in the south building

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews