We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great potential squandered” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Resort

Paradise Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Resort
Ranked #830 of 2,331 Hotels in Xi'an
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great potential squandered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our family just spent two nights at the hotel as part of a tour package. The previous reviews made me look at the hotel pictures to be sure we were at the same hotel. The lobby looked nice as we entered, so we were hopeful this would be a good place to stay. The room size was adequate with comfortable beds and the bathrooms seemed clean. The carpet, however looked like it had been on the floor of a barn. It was almost black with stains. Our room smelled really smokey even though we requested a non-smoking room, and the floor had not been vacuumed (hair all over and even a toothpick under a chair) so we asked to change rooms. The front desk was very helpful in finding another room. The carpet was just as dirty in that room as in the first, as was the carpet in our friends' room.
After walking around the hotel, we wondered if it had just been recently reopened after several years of abandonment. We felt like we were walking around a ghost town. Other than the lobby and the restaurant in the atrium, the rest of the hotel seemed deserted. The pool was empty and appeared to need a lot of repair before it would be functional. The banquet room was now a storage room for stacks of broken chairs and tables. The paint was peeling from the walls and ceiling and the drapes were sun faded and damaged. We found the workout room but it looked like it was not open and the room marked "massage" appeared to be a janitor's closet now. Also, there was a sign above a door off the main lobby that said jazz bar, but we saw no indication that it was ever open. We walked around the grounds outside of the hotel, and like the inside, looked like at one time it had been nice, but now looked like it had gone a long while without maintenance.
Bottom line-rooms were fine except for the filthy carpet. No useable amenities. Location was about a mile from Great Goose Pagoda. Lots of new construction in the area so there may soon be restaurants and shops close by. Breakfast buffet was okay.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkbkk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    66
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We moved in the middle of our stay in Xi'an from a hotel that was closer to our friends' home to this hotel because we wanted our daughter and her friend to be able to go swimming over the Spring Festival Holiday. We checked in late in the morning and asked about the breakfast buffet (not included in our reservation - were told 45 yuan per person and half price for our 4 year old) and asked if we were allowed to bring friends to swim. We were told that 2 guests could swim for free. We went to look at the pool and were told that it would be open from 2pm - 2am. We again asked about friends and were again told that 2 guests could come for free. That evening we invited our friends to come to swim. Unfortunately, at that time we were told that 2 HOTEL guests could swim for free - outside guests would be charged a fee of about $8 per person. BUT that didn't matter because the pool was not usable. Apparently they do not heat their indoor pool nor the room that houses it. In January, it is freezing cold. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet - which was fairly typical for hotels in China. When the waitress brought the bill it was 150 yuan - 50 yuan per person including our 4 year old who ate about 5 bites. After a lengthy argument in Chinese with 2 waitresses and a manager about what the front desk did or did not say and whether it mattered if we had been lied to or not and the manager took our daughter's meal off the bill.

The room was decent (comfy, huge bed, nice towels and bath robes - although the bathroom was quite small), and the atrium where breakfast is served and the grounds are lovely, but the dishonest customer service ruined our stay.

  • Liked — nice bed
  • Disliked — dishonest customer service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Turapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

We stayed here in April 2005. The hotel is visually very impressive - looks more like a top five-star hotel - and the bedrooms are wonderfully clean, comfortable and large. Overall, it's extremely good value for money, but we had a couple of quibbles.
First, it's very soulless. The staff are attentive but you get the feeling they're terrified of making a mistake rather than eager to help. Second, the restaurant is outrageously expensive by Chinese standards, so what you save on the rooms you lose on the food. The fact that it's in a 'five-star tourism ghetto' on the outskirts of the city makes it a bit difficult to find other eateries nearby, so you have to plan well if you don't want to pay their prices.
It also seems to be a favoured hang-out for the movers and shakers in Xian, lots of banquets and formal evening events with big brass in attendance.
The pool is lovely and the staff there are much more relaxed and friendly than elsewhere in the hotel.
If you plan to do a lot of trips in Xian and don't mind being a 20 minute taxi ride from the centre of the city (taxis are very cheap)then you couldn't do much better than this hotel, the bedrooms are wonderful to come back to after a hard day's sightseeing. It's also a great place if you want a bit of glamour that doesn't cost too much. Personally, however, Xian is such an interesting and lively city that I would pay a bit more for my room next time and stay closer to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeychile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2005

hi folks.....what an hotel...5 star...best hotel i have stayed in ..in china...rooms are large..bed are massive ..everything was so clean...helpful staff...good inside pool...........breakfast was out of this world,chinese,english,eggs anyway you want them.........totally enjoyed my 4 nights there....nothing was too much for the staff there...all this for only $55..us..per night..........cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richie5817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Tanglong International Hotel
Tanglong International Hotel
#67 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
4.7 mi away
Guangcheng Hotel
Guangcheng Hotel
#533 of 2,331 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
International Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Embassador International Hotel
4.4 mi away
Rongmin International Hotel
Rongmin International Hotel
#230 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Property: Paradise Resort
Address: NO. 388 Yanta South Rd, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Xi An
Paradise Resort China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing