We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the bathrooms”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #38 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware the bathrooms”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall, the hotel was ok;
The reception area was very well lit, and the staff helpfull, but had trouble understanding us wanting to change 100Yuan notes down to smaller units.
Breakfast was a good choice, western and local available, the china was very good [milk jugs in the form of a swan] and in a good ambience.
Be careful of the bathrooms, ourselves and others in the group found the grouting around the baths was attrocious! Lots of black mould, and the sink/vanity unit showed signs of being well used: could do with modernising / redecoration also the bedrooms themselves were 'tired' .
The bedroom itself had a balcony overlooking a pool with fountains, lit at night, but there was a large construction project opposite which started early in the morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been renovated and which overlooks the internal pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rifle-club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    250
    85
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
30
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our Virgin China tour. Large room, but the decor was dated and the carpets could have done with a bit of thorough cleaning. Breakfast contained good variety. It was a very busy hotel with large coach parties arriving along business conference. Internet was just about accessible in the lobby. It was also a little isolated for us and we found locating a suitable place to eat a bit trying. Staff were friendly and some facilities were of good standard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jjdcjdbjdajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed on the 9th floor of this hotel. The room was quite large and the bed was super large (approx 12 feet wide). Although the bed was firm it didn't bother me as I prefer firm beds. The decor of the room and the hotel in general was a bit dated. I saw staff adding gold leaf to one of the lobby's columns so ongoing redecoration is probably common to the hotel. It wasn't a bad hotel, staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good, but it wasn't a hotel that you would rave about. I wouldn't have an issue staying here again but when you're changing hotel every few days, it was somewhat forgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms are fine, nothing special but nothing negative. Its not a high rise hotel so no long waiting time concerning the elevator. The corridors could have more light but ok that is not a problem. The bed is better as average (width and soft). Always nice to have a shower and a bath. Service ok. Clean and well taken care of. The air con simple but working well.

Breakfast average but certainly not bad. They work by the clock, directly after 10, that it is.

The European restaurant is not recommendable. so and so. Later on the night a lotof dishes are not availabilities. Be careful with the wine there is a reasonable choice but we experienced that often the bottles are to old. The other restaurants Chinese and Japanese) we cannot judge. Overall service is ok and English language workable. Swimming pool nice to have but indoor. Internet by cable on the room good, wifi in the lobby good but on the rooms not working.

The bar very expensive (two espresso and two minimal liqueur appr.20 euro). You can sit nicely outside in a good atmosphere.

The location a bit out of the centre but also not far away. In rush hours taxi waiting time can be 15 to 20 minutes. The return ride no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjhuahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this dated and tired hotel. The rooms were dimly lit. Ours faced a brick wall. The safe was left on the floor for someone to pick up and steal!!! The breakfast was ok, not much for vegetarian people. Location not great for us as we were on a tour and quite far away from the city walls where there is a lot of action. The staff outside weren't useful either. Being westerners we were able to get a taxi. The bellboy directed us to the street where no one stopped to give us a ride. Poor service on behalf of the staff!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtandbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

By this stage of the tour we were getting rather sick of Chinese food twice a day, so one of our evenings at this hotel we were free to eat where we liked. We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant as did the other two couples on our tour. Typical westerners we all chose steak, burger or the like and it made a delicious change to Chinese food. The rooms were okay ,not 4 star but adequate and certainly clean. Terracotta warriors and Yangling tomb all fantastic history. Again we felt very safe walking the streets and exploring the local shops, do not espect regular shop staff to speak English. Yet again the breakfast choice was huge and high quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazcalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARRICKFERGUS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour of China.
The hotel isn't one of the hight rise squad in the cities, with a fair section of the hotel 5-6 storey high.
Room could do with a bit of TLC as could the bathroom, but other wise clean and tidy. Beds woefully hard !
Breakfast catered for Western and Chinese, cereals, fresh fruit, cooked food etc
Staff efficient and courteous
Apart from the TLC and very hard beds, nothing to complain about - would probably stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#39 of 2,582 in Xi'an
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.3 mi away
Rongmin International Hotel
Rongmin International Hotel
#269 of 2,582 in Xi'an
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,582 in Xi'an
1,166 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,582 in Xi'an
641 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#35 of 2,582 in Xi'an
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.2 Huzhu Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#23 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#33 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jianguo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Xi An
Jianguo Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing