We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very pleased - clean rooms, courteous staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian
Ranked #49 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Farmington, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased - clean rooms, courteous staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a conference in Xi'an. Hotel was great - rooms were clean, plenty of amenities in the rooms (shampoo, toothbrush/toothpaste, cotton swabs, shaving kit, lotion, etc.), bath towels and wash cloths replaced daily, even though I didn't ask them to be, flat screen TV (had a couple of English channels, but not many...did have HBO), wired internet that was fairly fast, complimentary bottled water and a safe. My only complaint is that the beds are rock hard and pretty uncomfortable. Breakfast in the Atrium Cafe was very nice - lots of options, fresh fruit, fried eggs cooked to order, and the staff were very friendly. Most of the staff do not speak great English, which was to be expected, but some did and were extremely friendly and helpful. Many reviewers have mentioned that this hotel is directly across the street from Wal-Mart, which is true, but many did not mention that the Wal-Mart is also in a mall. There is a 3-story mall across the street...the 3rd floor is actually nothing but local restaurants, which was very cool! We also were able to take the hotel car for a tour of the city (for much cheaper than the Xi'an organized tours cost), including the Terra Cotta Warrios, Banpo Museum and the City Wall. I wasn't much a fan of the Banpo Museum...but it sounds like they would be flexible if you wanted them to take you to some other things in the city (I wish I would've asked to see the Wild Goose Pagoda instead of the museum). The driver did not speak English, but here was very friendly and politely opened the door for me every time we got in and out of the car. They will exchange up to $100USD per guest, per day, and there is also a cash machine in the front lobby where you can withdraw yen from. Overall I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    119
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
19
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here after moving out of the Xi'An Hotel and did not set our expectations too high after that disaster of a hotel. However, we were not only pleasantly surprised but we were bowled over by this hotel! The bellmen were efficient, courteous and were very quick to bring up our luggage, then apologized for taking so long.

The rooms were very pleasantly decorated and the beds were typical of China, solid but not rock, concrete hard. The bathrooms were very beautiful and the scenes from the 24th floor at night were amazing!

The only complaint I had was we couldn't figure out the a/c but we just opened a window and it was fine. They do have fans downstairs tha they'll bring up if you want them but it was so pleasant outside we didn't bother.

The Atrium cafe on the 3rd floor has a great dinner selection and the most wonderful breakfast buffet.

2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view and don't get one facing the street or you'll hear the horns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomfamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Wonderful hotel I had room on 23 floor with views across the city - not a room more a suite and every room has huge bed great bathroom and a desk with wifi connector plus a couple of settees and a coffee table. Robes slippers and all the bathroom needs shampoo conditioner etc. Suggest bringing own coffee if u don't like nescafe with whitener and sugar (all in one satchet). Breakfast choice huge there was bacon ham, beans and fried eggs (latter at cook to order) I ignored all the black eggs etc but they have a wide range of chinese delicacies too! There was toast croissants Danish pastries and fruit and good coffee so no problems there. We did have a meal in the restaurant - buffet style and no one starved.

Room Tip: there were a lot of weddings at every hotel we stayed at. I suggest higher floors would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in April 2011 as part of a tour of China.

The hotel is very clean and tidy. The breakfast was fantastic, a good selection of bread/toast, cereal, bacon etc. and there is a great omelet/egg station which cooks your order to perfection. The room was spacious and quiet.

My only complaint was the rock hard bed, not just firm but like a board. I think the carpeted floor was softer. We made do by getting extra quilts and blankets to put on the mattress which helped.

We did have one problem when the hotel tried to make us pay for an ice bucket liner which was cracked from old age not abuse. When I argued with the manager and stood my ground they took the charge off.

There is a Walmart across the street.
Would I stay here again? YES

Room Tip: ask for extra bedding if you want a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gleger2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

no WIFI
no English
NO BREAKFAST EVEN THOUGH I BELIEVED IT WAS INCLUDED!!!
Location is not inside city walls or close to them!
Booked tour through them... which was less then adaquate (although I don't hold the hotel responsible for that) Guide had poor english, poor knowlegde, and didn't even think to suggest bathroom breaks during a 10 hour day? But Terra Cotta Warriors ARE WORTH SEEING!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlamaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a tour group for about 3 nights and we found this hotel to be nice, clean, have decent facilities and near the Lido Theatre where we had a chance to watch Tang Dynasty Show. It's a big hotel with 27 floors. The location is 10 minutes from Shaanxi Museum and 15 minutes drive from Big Goose Pagoda.

We stayed at Room #1327. Rooms are spacious and have adequate amenities, incl. hot water, kettle, weight scale, iron, complimentary bottled water and safe deposit box. Hotel have several restaurants inside, a spa, indoor swimming pool, a quite decent gym and a shopping mall across the street with Walmart inside. Staff are efficient although speak very little (or can I say almost nothing) English, as expected. Room is clean, bright and fresh. Mattress is slightly hard but still okay compared to other hotels we stayed during our China trip.

Breakfast at Atrium Cafe is good, it has decent varieties and good taste.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel was centrally located (and across from a convenient Walmart) but that was where the positives ended. The rooms reeked of both smoke and mildew and opening the window did nothing to help air it out. Front desk staff couldn't be bothered to help half the time and the lobby reeked of cigarettes as well. Breakfast was decent, with a fairly large selection, but not enough seating availability. Truthfully, the whole place felt a bit dingy and has clearly seen better days.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#22 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Meihua Goldentang International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#8 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Property: Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian
Address: No.1 North Yanta Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710054, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#52 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianyu Gloria Plaza Xi An
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing