We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality,location and wonderfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
Ranked #3 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hostel is above average, spacious and cozy, with a few extra as slippers and daily change of towels. Well located within the city walls, close to metro and access to Drum Tower and Wall walk. Recreation area with tables and free pool table. Serves varied tasty meals at very interesting prices. Exceptional reception staff, very friendly and helpful. Easy communication because some of the employees speak English quite well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Ancient City International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hostel is a hidden gem, located only 1 minutes next to police station and 3 minutes to Xian Subway. From the hotel, turn left then we can walk to the lotus garden, lots of places for breakfast and my favorite Moslem Quarter.
The price was very affordable plus they have 3 good washing machines, which was very useful for us. The receptions were very friendly and informative, the most important was at least they understand English. If I have a chance to go to Xian again, I will stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night, which is more than enough for Xi'an. The hotel staff is nice and the connected bar/restaurant is also a nice place (food is average but atmosphere is nice; the music is sometimes to loud though). From the hotel it's 15 Minutes walk to the railway station from where you can take the tourist bus 5(306) which takes you to the terracotta army in approx. 50 min. It is easy to use (final stop to final stop), cheap (Y7 pP and ride) and goes every 10-20 min.

The hotel itself is as mentioned ok. Our bathroom wall was a bit dirty. Looked like poo, however, in China poo is everywhere, so we just didn't touch this particular part of the wall. the hotel offers still a good value for your money. We paid Y200 for a double room with a huge bed. We would use it again...

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The reception and all the workers were very helpful and went out of their way to explain something, even if something was initially lost in conversation. The rooms are clean and comfortable---great for the price. Location is conveniently close I north railway station. You can also rent bicycles for a whole day for 20 yuan, which is pretty neat. The location is a bit far from the center, but close to the subway. Bar/restaurant is great and there is a good variety of food that is great for the price. Also has a lot of space including books, pool table, etc.

Only negative feedback is that I think they should have more tours for locations included on the map--(especially Mount Huashan and Famen Temple....) Other than that, it's a good hostel that is well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014.

What can I say - the double room was MASSIVE! King size bed, big ensuite, flat screen TV and only cost us $8 AUD a night each.

The bar and pool table area was nice and cozy, and had a lot of room to move around. The bar food was great at breakfast and dinner, and very reasonably priced for Western food in Xi'an. Hostel staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English.

Well located - my main tip would be to NOT rely on the metro but get the bus or a taxi if you are arriving from the station or airport! There are heaps of stairs in and around the metro station (and temperamental escalators!) so it's hard to get a big suitcase up and down them!

Conveniently located a walk to a metro station, which will get you to a lot of main attractions, and several bus stops that take you outside the city walls to where buses depart for the Terracotte Warriors. Have a walk down to the Muslim Quarter near the Bell Tower and Drum Tower if you stay here. It's a 10 minute walk away and you'll have some of the best food of your life.

Room Tip: Saw some of the dorm rooms and they're nowhere near as comfortable or large as the twin/single r...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berrah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hidden gem is located very close to both the police and metro stations so it feels both safe and practical. We stayed in a private double with en-suite which was clean and spacious. The bar/restaurant is cozy though I do wish the no-smoking rule was enforced. The food options are varied and everything we tried was quite nice. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Xian I would not hesitate to recommend this place especially for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable double rooms for the cheapest price we experienced whilst touring china.

Sure there were some unexplainable odours emitting from the drains in the ensuite bathroom and you could hear every single thing that was occurring throughout the rest of the hostel but otherwise a great experience with friendly, helpful staff, a comfortable common room serving cracking breakfast and generally great access to city sights.

Quite simply fantastic value for money in the centre of xi'an.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katealana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.0 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#37 of 2,616 in Xi'an
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,616 in Xi'an
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,616 in Xi'an
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient City International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient City International Youth Hostel

Address: 4 Lianhu road,close to Beidajie Street, Xi'an 710000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range: $12 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ancient City International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is well and modern designed. There are different sizes of rooms, from 4-bed dorm to triple room to meet guests’ needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable, equipped with telephone, internet access, TV, air-conditioning and 24 hours hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ancient City International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient City International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing