We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice change from Chinese food for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Tex-Mex

Peter's Tex-Mex
Ranked #28 of 1,653 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice change from Chinese food for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good family friendly western fester aunt that we have visited a few times when we are sick of Chinese food. I love the chimichangas. And the fajitas are good too. It's a bit on the expensive side compared to Chinese food but it's pretty average priced for western food. There's a kid play area which we also appreciate! The mall is also worth shopping at - it has Gap, Vanguard, Uniqlo...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoleofnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex food in bright mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Every once in awhile, this Spanish speaker craved real Mexican food. Low expectations, but I was surprised! They had great fajitas, good guacamole and excellent enchiladas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbuelitaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly not disappointing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

First of all, for those of you who aren't Chinese mailmen, it's located on the fourth floor of a shopping mall that says (not called) Vanguard on the outside.

The atmosphere doesn't have the usual pep that comes with Tex Mex, but is rather kind of dull. I guess synthesizers and pan flutes playing church music constitutes as Texan? So needless to say, I wasn't expecting much. I was expecting to pay too much for mediocre food like you would at other try-hard Western restaurants here. BUT the first bite into my chimichanga caught me off guard by how Western tasting it was and I couldn't find fault with it. The frozen margarita was right there with the food on being at or above Western standards.

The thing that didn't surprise me is the "Oh ships, I forgot rice and beans aren't included" feeling I had when the food came out. I paid 100yuan ($17ish) for the two things and just barely felt it was enough. So don't take Tex Mex's value and generosity for granted.

In short, this place could probably keep it's doors open if it moved to America but it wouldn't be the talk of the town (unless the town was in North Dakota).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard to review when half of the menu isn't available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

"I'll have this, please"
"Sorry, no have"
"OK, I'll try this instead."
"Buhaoyise, no have"
"OK... Do you have this?"
"So sorry. Ha ha ha."
...
If you're not accustomed to Chinese culture, this is maddening. They don't have or can't make half of what's on the very extensive menu, and they don't have sour cream to serve with anything they do have. The food that they do have is very good, but ordering is a long and haphazard process.
They do have A&W rootbeer and Dr. Pepper, so it's worth going just for that! The milkshakes are good, too. I have to praise the waitresses for being so friendly when the kitchen is obviously so lazy and incapable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kundziu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as Xian Western food goes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is as good as the city has to offer in the terms of Western grub. It is in a mall so the environment is a bit dull, but at least they utilize the heat. It is warm and cozy and a decent place to linger. The smoothies are good, especially the mango one. It is packed with Chinese families so proceed with caution around 5:30 pm! The Tex Mex is ok and the chicken chimichangas are satisfying. Bigger portions of sour cream and salsa need to be requested. The service is Chinese style, impersonal and food comes out plate by plate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peter's Tex-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing