We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excitement and education in Xian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Odyssey Tours

China Odyssey Tours
Ranked #6 of 67 Tours in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Odyssey Tours Xi'an branch office.I bet Terracotta Army sounds familiar to you, its location as well, maybe. Yes, we are talking about Xian-one of world's top four ancient capitals, a must for first-time travelers to China. Traveling to the place where Chinese civilization flourished and reached its climax, we are definitely expecting more. Beyond the Terracotta Army, we have the best-preserved Ancient City Wall, the iconic Big Goose Pagoda which directed by monk Xuan Zang, fabulous Tang Dynasty Show etc. Oh! Do count the Jiaozi Banquet in, I never knew Jiaozi could have almost 20 different flavors and be presented in such an exquisite way. Night is still young, how about a time travel back to 1400 years ago? Wander along the Great Tang All Day Mall, the glamour and prosperity of Tang Dynasty are out there waiting for you.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excitement and education in Xian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent three days in Xian, visiting sights we chose with Coco as our guide. She was a most accommodating person to show us her impressive city. She anticipated our needs, looked after our comfort, and intervened with the hotel when we needed a softer bed covering and better temperature control in our room. She also helped me find a place to get my hair cut for under 10 yuan.
Coco has excellent skills as a guide. She communicated with us well, sharing cultural values and information. She took us to a perfect place for lunch when visited the terra cotta warriors, allowing us to eat at a non-tourist restaurant, which is what we prefer. I cannot recommend her highly enough! If we return to Xian, we will definitely request her as a guide again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Alaskanwanderer,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Adviser. It's very nice to hear you praised our service and gave a high score to the guide-Coco. We fell proud that we have a group of team members like Coco working hard together to real a common goal. Our aim is the client’s satisfaction on our service.

We wish you and your family would experience our service to more Asian countries next time with Odyssey again.

Take care until then.

You are not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    26
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two Days with Coco in Xian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had an excellent tour in Xian organized by China Odyssey thanks to our wonderful guide Coco.
Coco was very knowledgable, professional and attentive. She picked us up from the airport and helped us with check-in at the hotel, made sure that we were happy with our room and organized a packed breakfast (with all our dietary requirements!) for our very early morning departure.
Coco made sure we saw everything we wanted to see in Xian and was very informative on the history and culture of china. She always made sure there was bottled water in the car and that we were always comfortable. She also gave us some good advice on what we could do in our free time.
Coco is very friendly, smart and funny and we quickly developed a good rapport with her. We could not have had a better guide than Coco.
Our driver Mr Ma was also excellent, very attentive and we felt very safe.

So thanks again Coco for making our visit to Xian so memorable!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RhodesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Rhodes,

Thank you for sharing your recent Xian tour on TripAdvisor.com. It's always nice to hear our clients praise our service, and also mention our travel consultant and tour guide’s name. It is absolutely a huge encouragement for our future service.

Our guide’s mission is to help travelers to see and experience the real Xian, to learn about its history, culture, the people, local cuisine, and return home knowing that we all are “people of the world”.

Thanks again for your recommendation. We welcome you to more cities in China in the near future.

Faithfully,

You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Xian 2.5 day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very impressed with China Odyssey and their staff. The hotel was fabulous and the guide was very knowledgeable. We traveled with two young children and the private tour fit the bill perfectly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Julie,

Thanks for sharing your pleasant Xian tour with us. Besides Xian, There are really many great places of interest around China worth visiting. I sincerely wish you can take the opportunity to enjoy wonderful sightseeing in China or to more Asian countries like Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, India and Bhutan in the near future.

Thank you and take care until then.

You’re not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Xian Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

China Odyssey Tours provided unbelievably great service all over China but we were particularly impressed with Helen, our guide for Xian. She was professional, friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. We felt like we were being shown around Xian by a friend. If you are going to Xian you would be well served to request her - you won't be sorry. She was always there with whatever you needed - water, napkins, snacks, etc. We learned more about the Chinese way of life from her than all our other guides put together. Thanks Helen!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Steven,

Thank you for sharing your reviews on TripAdvisor.com. Each team member like Helen will take care of every detail of the group in his/her own ways. It's very nice to hear our clients praised our service and gave a high score to the guide. We regarded your satisfaction on our service as an honor.

We wish you have another chance to visit more cities in China soon.

Best regards and have a great day,

You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two-Day Visit in Xian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The two-day stay in Xian was the second stop of our 12 day visit to China, both of us had visited Xian some 12 years earlier, and like many other parts of China Xian changed a lot. We were accompanied by our guide MA Wen Min (Stella) and a driver. as a native of Xian she was very knowledgeable about the city and its history. We spent most of our time in museums: the major part of a day visiting the Terracotta soldiers and associated museum, as fascinating on our first visit, but lots of improvements in the exhibition halls and the new museum, all of them packed with mostly Chinese tourists. The Banpo museum showing 6000 year old village live was similarly unique and interesting, and not crowded at all! The Shaanxi History Museum was even better than I remembered from my earlier visit, again very crowded, so was the fully renovated area of the Big Wild Pagoda. Stella was a great guide in all those places, interpreting the descriptions on the exhibits and filling us in on the origin of all the items items on display. She also assisted with the purchase of some calligraphy, paintings and silk in the Moslem quarter, and recommended interesting places for dinner (avoid the hotel restaurants, even in the best of hotels). All arrangements by Odyssey Tours turned out as planned by Roger Lee or better, so I strongly recommend this company for similar private tours, the best way to see China.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vera1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Vera,

Thank you for sharing your recent Xian tour on TripAdvisor.com. We’re more than happy to hear our clients praise our service, and also mention our travel consultant and tour guide’s name. It is absolutely a huge encouragement for our future service.

As a start point of the ancient Silk Road in China, Xi’an is truly worth visiting, especially the Terracotta Warriors. Besides that, all kinds of museums with well-preserved relics are the highlights. Please feel free to contact us again if you and your family could someday experience more cities of China.

Sincerely,

You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Odyssey Tours also viewed

 

Been to China Odyssey Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing