We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour in Xian”

China Odyssey Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$184.00*
and up
Xian Private Tour to Terracotta Warriors and City Wall
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Odyssey Tours Xi'an branch office.I bet Terracotta Army sounds familiar to you, its location as well, maybe. Yes, we are talking about Xian-one of world's top four ancient capitals, a must for first-time travelers to China. Traveling to the place where Chinese civilization flourished and reached its climax, we are definitely expecting more. Beyond the Terracotta Army, we have the best-preserved Ancient City Wall, the iconic Big Goose Pagoda which directed by monk Xuan Zang, fabulous Tang Dynasty Show etc. Oh! Do count the Jiaozi Banquet in, I never knew Jiaozi could have almost 20 different flavors and be presented in such an exquisite way. Night is still young, how about a time travel back to 1400 years ago? Wander along the Great Tang All Day Mall, the glamour and prosperity of Tang Dynasty are out there waiting for you.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Xian was one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend visiting the Shaanxi Museum and hiring a private guide/researcher to take you through the frescoes on the lower level. We were lucky to have Prof Wang available. He really explained and showed us the intricacies of each painting, interpreting them to better understand the culture at that time. It was amazing. Without someone to explain, you'll miss out on the best information. We also visited a local elementary school which was really enjoyable. I also suggest setting up a private noodle/dumpling hands-on workshop. The entire family had fun making our own noodles (which we sample during lunch)! Henry was an awesome tour guide who is very knowledgeable about Xian and China's history.

Thank g t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear g t,

Many thanks for your positive review on TA and recommend the highlights in Xian to other travelers. It’s our great pleasure to organize this tour for you.

Here in Xian, China Odyssey Tours is not only able to arrange the regular tour attractions, but also the local special activities, such as visiting a local elementary school, cooking class, etc. We welcome more customers to enjoy the local special activities.

Thanks again for your feedback and recommendation. Henry asked me to give his regards to you and the group!

We are your friends in China. Look forward to your return!

You're not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 674 of 725 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I didn't like this city in particular. There was so much traffic and smog. However, the Terracotta Warriors are so worth it as was the Hangyang Tombs. We also at a meal in the home of someone who lives there which was a great experience. Our guide Evan was knowledgable and helped to make the trip even more enjoyable.

1  Thank fancynancy10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear fancynancy10803,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.com. We appreciate that you give a high score to our tour guide Ivan and our service, which is a great encouragement for us.

Meanwhile, there are a lot of historical tour attractions and special activities in this city and they are highly recommended to other travelers. We hope that the traffic and smog problems here didn’t spoil your good memory of the whole trip.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to China.

Warm regards,

You're not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I we had a fantastic experience with Eric in Xi´an. We did all the major atractions i.e. Terracota Warriors, The Wall around Xi´an, The Bell Tower , Muslim quarter. Odyssey took care of us since our arrival at the airport till our departure to Guilin. We experienced real local food and also did some shopping around.The Terracota Warriors was the pick of the visit. Definetely a must do attraction

2  Thank Lui2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Lui2005,

Thank you for sharing us about your experience and let others know the highlights in Xian. It's very nice to hear our clients praise our service and also mention our tour guides’ name. It was our pleasure and responsibility to organize this happy tour holiday for your group as we promised.

Thank again for your recommendation. We will keep working hard and provide better service and prices.

Sincerely,

You're not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really impressed with Xi'An - less hectic than Beijing but with sights that still tick all the boxes.
The Terracotta Warriors were every bit as good as the "hype" described but the other activities (Wild Goose Pagoda, cycling round the city walls, strolling through the Muslim quarter) were equally enjoyable.
We found people very friendly - although, as Europeans, we were inevitably the object of much good natured discussion, debate and surreptitious pointing and photographing. That becomes more pronounced as you get further off the tourist trail.
It can be daunting but some of our most unexpectedly enjoyable experiences were had when "hunting" for our evening meals at local restaurants. If you are lucky you find ones with pictures in the menu but we hit one that had menu only in Chinese - that was when we had to resort to the Berlitz phrasebook and the help of the owner's 10 year old daughter who was just starting to learn English. Surprisingly we ate very well ..... and certainly left the locals very amused by it all - especially as we'd all become fairly proficient with chopsticks by this time.
The China Odyssey Tour organisation was absolutely excellent and, having seen other, larger tour groups being herded around, we were really pleased that we'd gone with the smaller, more relaxed one-on-one format. Our local guide, Betty, was really good and, as well as the "bread and butter" guidance on the sites, we had extremely enjoyable discussions and exchanges of information on culture, social history, cooking and life in general comparing China and the UK .... and discovering, not surprisingly, that the points of similarity far outnumbered the differences. Without the smaller C.O.T tour format and the enthusiasm of Betty we would have missed out on that unique experience.
We're already planning to go back for a longer period to build on that very successful first "exploratory" visit.
Summary -
If you are planning a visit to China, we'd definitely advocate using the small group, private tour format of China Odyssey Tours. The pre-planning dialogue is extensive and thorough and the schedule is full but practical. The organisation of travel and pick ups from airports was flawless and the whole experience completely stress free.
The quality of the local guides was consistently good and visiting the sights in Xi'An with Betty was an absolute pleasure. Their local knowledge meant that hotels and restaurants were of excellent quality - I'm already missing the food.

1  Thank H2038PKbrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Brain,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review with us and other travelers. We are so proud to see that you enjoyed this tailor made private trip which is more flexible, unique and personalized experience, what's more, you feel not alone in China with our team!

At COT we are committed to delivering a friendly and professional service to all our customers. We take this commitment very seriously and constantly strive to meet our customers' expectations. Your feedback is very important in ensuring that we can properly and fully evaluate and consider how we are performing.

At the mean time, I've shared your comments with our all staff. Thanks again for your recommendation.

Faithfully,

You're not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We unfortunately travelled to Xi'an in Summer which, for people in their 60's, proved to be very testing. The sights were amazing and despite the oppressive heat still a memorable experience.
We travel to Asian countries at least once every year and this was our first experience with a tour company. Without China Odyssey Tours we would have been lost ( very little signage in English ) and not able to see the many temples and places we were taken ( We will build in some down time on our next tour ... too much value for money ).
We had a great guide, Eric, and a terrific driver who got us to the places we needed to see and experience. They got us to our hotels each night where we collapsed before trying to find somewhere to eat ( not enough assistance in this area ). Many people in this area do not speak English and it is very hard to order dinner when the menu is in Chinese with no pictures.
Had a bad experience on the City Wall ... had to walk about 9 km. back to our transport as people selling tickets for the electric buses decided they wouldn't sell us a ticket ( still unsure why but their laughing at us didn't help the situation ... couldn't use bikes as the wife had injured her leg a few days earlier ).
When we were with our guide and driver everything went very smoothly. Strongly suggest using a tour service, and China Odyssey is a good one.
We loved the food in this part of the country.
We were taken back by the manners of many of the people. No pleases or thank you and first in best dressed seems to be the rule. Our guide, driver and hotel staff were the only people who used their manners.
If you are travelling to this part of the country and have breathing difficulties eg. asthma, rethink travelling to Northern China. There is so much smog and dust from demolition and subsequent construction that you could not see the views in the distance or the second line of buildings.

5  Thank wsgordon2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear wsgordon2003,

Thank you for sharing us about your recent trip on TripAdvisor.com. It's always nice to hear our clients praise our service and also mention our tour guide’s name. It was a pleasure to organize this tour holiday for your group. I am glad to know you all enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks for letting others know that the group will have an English-speaking licensed tour guide, a private vehicle (with size in accordance with the group) and a licensed driver after booking a private tour with China Odyssey Tours. The guide, driver and vehicle will be at your service during the whole trip organized by our team, so you will not feel alone in China.

Don’t forget to let us know when you return to China, and we hope to see and serve you again.

Have a nice day,

You're not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Odyssey Tours also viewed

 

Been to China Odyssey Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing